Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12
4.8 out of 5 stars

on 11 November 2017
eally fascinating book about cryptids. The books is divided by waht dragons could be from surviving dinosaurs, giant reptiles, unknown creatures and even paranormal creatures. The author even give the explanation that the "dragons" could be tulpas. For those who don,t know a tulpa is a creature of the mind that the mind could give life to. The bibliography is really interesting for further reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2005
I must admit I had been looking forward to reading this book for a very long time. When it finally landed on my doormat, I tore at the parcel like a kid with a Christmas present and then sat myself down to eagerly read the pages within its lush covers. I can assure you that I was not disappointed. I can fully understand now why it took Mr. Freeman so long to write. It is an extremely in-depth look at all things to do with Dragons. It’s the “everything you ever wanted to know about dragons but were afraid to ask” fieldguide and more! Any budding researcher should always have a copy of this book to hand. If anyone had the intention to write a book of this nature then he is just the man to do it, as he has crossed the globe looking for dragons and their kin! You can say what you like about Richard and C.F.Z but you’ve got to hand it to him… while other researchers sit on their backsides in front of a computer screen, Mr Freeman is in the Gobi desert hunting the death worm, crawling through the caves of Thailand in search of the Naga or laying bait in Loch Morar for the Morag…. the list goes on.
It is a wonderfully written book and I commend Mr Freeman on the fantastic job he has done. I strongly recommend it to anyone with even the slightest interest in monsters and the people who hunt for them. 10 out of 10!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2005
In the minds of some, someone who accepts – at least potentially – the notion that dragons may be real, flesh-and-blood creatures should seek medical advice, keep taking the tablets and have a lie down in a darkened room. Perhaps their bubbles don’t float all the way to the top, you may opine.
Well, it aint necessarily so. Richard Freeman is a cryptozoologist of international reputation and stature who is probably the world’s greatest expert on dragon lore. For acolytes of winged fire-breathers this book is a must-have. Freeman takes a clinical look at the whole subject of dragons; dragons through history, dragons throughout the world’s cultures and dragons – whatever they may be – in our current era.
The fact is that there are numerous instances of individuals who have been killed or severely injured by zoologically unclassified creatures that, physiologically and temperamentally, match up to the stereotypical image of the dragon or something very similar to it.
I’ve read numerous books on cryptozoology. A disturbing number leave the reader as baffled at the end as they were when they first opened the front cover. Not so with Freeman’s work. It is comprehensive, well written and thought – provoking. It also suggests four possible explanations for the dragon phenomenon. None of them, armchair cryptozoologists will be glad to know, involve the usual clap-trap about hallucinations and hoaxes. Oh, there are hallucinators and hoaxers out there to be sure, but they cannot account for the wealth of evidence put forward by Freeman that there is more – a lot more – to the dragon phenomenon than meets the eye.
Not to be missed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2005
I must admit I had been looking forward to reading this book for a very long time. When it finally landed on my doormat, I tore at the parcel like a kid with a Christmas present and then sat myself down to eagerly read the pages within its lush covers. I can assure you that I was not disappointed. I can fully understand now why it took Mr. Freeman so long to write. It is an extremely in-depth look at all things to do with Dragons. It’s the “everything you ever wanted to know about dragons but were afraid to ask” fieldguide and more! Any budding researcher should always have a copy of this book to hand. If anyone had the intention to write a book of this nature then he is just the man to do it, as he has crossed the globe looking for dragons and their kin! You can say what you like about Richard and C.F.Z but you’ve got to hand it to him… while other researchers sit on their backsides in front of a computer screen, Mr Freeman is in the Gobi desert hunting the death worm, crawling through the caves of Thailand in search of the Naga or laying bait in Loch Morar for the Morag…. the list goes on.
It is a wonderfully written book and I commend Mr Freeman on the fantastic job he has done. I strongly recommend it to anyone with even the slightest interest in monsters and the people who hunt for them. 10 out of 10!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2012
Richard Freeman has written a book that has, for so many years needed to be written. Books on dragons are few and far between, especially books that stretch beyond the myth of fairytale and examine evidence and eye-witness accounts of alleged real dragon sightings.

No stone goes unturned here as Freeman goes on a quest to far away exotic lands, down into inky black waters, and through many a steamy jungle to find if dragons, of a flesh and blood nature actually existed. The idea of dragons goes way beyond the fantastic tales of fire-breathing, leather winged beasts, and Richard is a dab hand at analysing some classic stories, from Scotland's Loch Ness to obscure confrontations with possible prehistoric survivors. All manner of scaly horrors are highlighted, bringing fiction into reality, examining archetypes, and detailing modern beliefs and encounters.

At almost 300 pages, 'Dragons: More Than A Myth ?' is a vital book for cryptozoology, and will interest anyone who has an eye for dinosaurs, mythology, and dragon slaying!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2005
This is a truly fantastic book and a modern classic in cryptozoology.
Extensively researched and very well written, this is the first proper scientific research into dragons in over 100 years. An essential reference book for anyone who wants to learn about dragons, zooform phenomena, cryptozoology, mythology, natural history or even how gigantic crocodiles can get. Dragons more than a myth makes fine bedtime reading too if you fancy a chill before you drift off to sleep. The Illustrations by Mark North add an extra dimension to the book and, extra fun can be had spotting hidden pictures within them as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
Stellar book. And I do not say that lightly. There's just over 300 pages here, but there could have been a lot more. The font is quite small, so those with poor eyesight might need to wear reading glasses.

The book has absolutely fascinating accounts of dragon and dragon like creatures from all over the world and spanning across the ages.
Some of my personal favourites were the Welsh glittering dragons, the water dragon that Romans had encountered and the Dragon like creature that surfaced and was following a swimmer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2005
Richard Freeman has amassed a phenomenal range of reports of large reptile-like animals from around the world and put them together as a very readable textbook. He concentrates on the reports normally considered to be of myths and legends and then gently moves them into the real world with explanations of how the reports may have originated. He does so in a believeable and logical way.
In fact this is really a dual book, it is a textbook with a good index, where if one was visiting say The Gambia or Thailand one could look up what the local dragon legend was, but it is also a good read.Everytime that I have looked something up I have found what I wanted and then finished the chapter.
I would advise any serious herpetologist or explorer to read it urgently -it will broaden your mind and open up possibilities that modern academic training tends to suppress.Just having read it will improve your report writing. To Folk-lorists if you don't read it you will have missed what may be the most important text of decade.
Chris. M. Moiser
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2005
When the map reads: ‘Here Be Dragons’, no one knows better than cryptozoologist Richard Freeman that the creatures lurking beyond the map’s edge are much more than myth and legend – they are flesh-and-blood.
Would-be explorers, naturalists and budding cryptozoologists will be thrilled by the legends and lore contained within Freeman’s dragon ‘bible’, for wont of a better description. He relates tales from every corner of the globe, taking the reader on a dark and wild ride through the reptile kingdom.
Freeman is as good as his writing, leaving his comfy armchair behind for the harsh challenges of the jungle and desert in his hunt for proof that dragons are real.
He catalogues numerous instances of strange human deaths at the claws of unknown, dragon-like cryptids – from a fog-bound sea off the Florida coast to a rural village in the wilds of New Guinea.
Lavishly illustrated by the talented Mark North (sure to be in demand after his efforts on Dragons), Dragons: More than a Myth? is a handsome tome and a worthy addition to any Fortean library.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2005
I am quite sure that if you open up a dictionary and look up the word ‘Dragon’ it would read ‘See Richard Freeman’.
This long awaited and much anticipated seven year labour of love is by no means a disappointment. It is packed full of informative, well researched knowledge which is presented in an ‘easy reading format’ and the hidden images add a humorous touch.
In fact it is quite clear that Mr Freeman has limitless knowledge on this subject and that this book is a condensed version of his thoughts and views which have been combined beautifully with his theories and factual information.
If you are embarking on a research project, serious about your Dragons be it in a mythical, factual or just a little curious of this subject matter then this is a must have for any Dragon enthusiast be they expert or a curious novice.
When your parents told you that 'there were no such things as Dragons' they did indeed lie.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)