Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
8


on 12 October 2016
This book has just arrived and I've flicked through it. I've bought it as a gift for a geologist, and I hope he'll like it. As for myself, a very amateur geologist, my first impression is that of disappointment that the photographs are in black and white, especially when the information accompanying them tells you about the colours in there! I bought it on the strength of the previous reviews, so I'm hoping the content and detail will compensate for the black and white photographs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2017
Essential book for local Somerset field (and armchair) geologists
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 February 2015
Very good value like new
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 December 2010
Many geological excursion guides are tough going, with dry text full of technical terms and no glossary. Worse, when you go to see the stuff described, it's too subtle for the normal mortal eye. This one is a geological guide that's not like that at all. It's written by a single human being (rather than a committee) and a human being who is actually human. One who not only knows his rocks but loves them, and who wants to unveil them in their mystery and wonder. To explain not just what they're called but also what they are and how they got there.

Geology is interesting: too many geological books serve just to kill that interest. This one does the opposite. If you're interested in the geology of Somerset - and even more, if you've been interested in the geology of Somerset but been put off by some geology book - then get hold of this. And prepare for some intriguing days out all over the county.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2013
My knowledge of geology is quite basic but I am fascinated by rock formations and photograph them when I can. The problem is - what have I seen. Having visited Kilve a couple of times I really wanted to know more about the way the rocks were formed and when. This book solves the problem and encourages me to visit other areas of Somerset. Written in a straight forward manner but not skimping on the details - a problem with so many books that either just give the barest details or are locked into such indecipherable geological jargon that they are unreadable. Written in 1999 with a 2001 update it is probably as accurate now as it was then.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 June 2009
This is an excellent introduction to the geology of Somerset, with accurate information clearly explained. I liked the tips about where to see the formations described and the climatic and landscape conditions at the times when the rocks were laid down. Good illustrations as well.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 August 2009
Very informative book with superb images
very usfull for area visit
also good companion with The Geolpgy of Watchet and Neighourhood
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2016
Great condition. Will enhance holiday trips.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here