Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
18
4.7 out of 5 stars
Sheep for Beginners (Gold Cockerel)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 17 January 2017
exactly as tile was a good short read which covered most if not all topics as i am new to the subject
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2004
This is a great book especially if you're just starting off on your sheep journey. You could easily manage a flock of 20-30 head within six months of reading this book. Well worth the money - even for the more experienced sheepster, there are sound tips and good advice.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2009
I bought this book 18 months ago as an absolute beginner sheep-owner, and on the whole, it has been pretty useful. This is chiefly because it is small and therefore not daunting to tackle, and providing concise explanations of techniques and some disesases. But by its nature, it can't be comrehensive, and I have found various internet sites more useful for diagnosing illness, when a friendly farmer or vet has not been around to advise. I also found that some of the advice was a little biased. This is a useful little book, but it can't be your only source of information.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2009
This book is very easy to read and understand. It does not bombard you with too much finer detail just the essentials for beginners. Its recommendations are "do-able" for small flock holders.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2012
As someone who is after a very small flock of sheep mainly as pets, this is the first book I have read regarding the rearing of sheep, and I'm NOT disappointed. It is set out in layman's language without being patronising and covers all aspect of rearing sheep from what to look for when buying, to grass management and fencing through to slaughter or end of natural life as a pet. I'm so enthralled by it that I'm also going to buy 'the smallholders guide' for information on other aspects of being a smallholder.

If I had to make one criticism it would be the photos could do with updating.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2009
I bought this book for friend of mine who are first time sheep keepers they are very pleased with it they said it has given them a lot more confidence handling the sheep and with hoof care
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
This is an an excellent book and well worth the money. It is written in plain English, suitable for beginners and easy and concise to understand. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
I bought this title for a relative who says he is quite impressed with the simple way things are explained and of course is very happy with it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
gives enough general facts to 'wet the appetite'. I now need to purchase a more detailed book on sheep to get me started...........
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
Fantastic book for first time sheep farmers. Great advice. Really enjoyed the book but maybe medications advice needs to be updated?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)