Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
10
Revolution of Everyday Life
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 22 October 2016
Trenchant analysis, irradiated by sublime passages of poetic insight into our trashed humanity.

"Who wants a world in which the guarantee that we shall not die of starvation entails the risk of dying of boredom?"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 January 2015
Sublime. Strongly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 March 2016
Excellent book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 July 2013
Good condition but several pages are blank or missing which is infuriating.i would expect a more impressive and diligent service than this especially for the cash I paid for the item.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 September 2006
This is a one off. There are wonderful pages describing the "many petty humiliations we a subjected too everyday" which will resonate with people who feel herded, crammed in and degraded by mass transportation. And what is humilation but "being reduced to an object"?

Indeed, it is these "inbetween times" - riding public transport, walking down the street - which Vaneigem seeks to save from oblivion, as just time-in-transit before assuming a work-or-lesuire role. This he calls "signifying the insignifcant" and is an attempt to bring lived meaning to the most unpromising or fleeting of situations.

Much of the book, and indeed the situationist project in general, can be viewsed as a "war against roles". Veneigem says that proportional to your identiification with a role is the sense of time speeding up - getting out of roles, or rather playing/creating an unplayed one, is the way towards authenticity and reunified subjectivity.

In a world where the following phrase is overused to the point of banality let me assure that it rings true here : THIS BOOK WILL CHANGE YOUR LIFE!
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 November 2001
Written in a more accessible manner than the, also vital, Society of the Spectacle (Guy Debord) and with a more flowing, beautiful and inspiring style, this book is indespensible to any modern left-wing revolutionary.25 chapters of sparkling genius which, although not the easiest read in the world, is probably one of the most satisying and most life-changing books. A swift diatibe against the current world order of politics and economics, possessed with the urge to destroy that set of social relationships which it describes. "Be realistic - demand the impossible"
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 October 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 2008
I freely admit to not having read this book anywhere near as closely as it deserves. But is that going to stop me writing a review?? You bet. Instead, I offer the following - which I (despite my abject lack of humility) would not even dare dignify with the comparatively honorific term "review." Vaneigem's style is elegant, engaging and incisive. That much we know. However, there is sometimes the feeling that his thought is tinged with sociology...or at least, that it is not perhaps as startlingly original as it may feel on first encounters. E.g. Down Quantity Street. If I can reduce part of the thought here - the world abraded of its qualities, divided and subdivided, categorised, labeled, sawn up industriously into manageable chunks. And us with it. What's left? Numbers. Nothing to feel or be felt by. Computations, statistics, bean counting. Sure. Except wasn't this part of Weber's beef with bureaucracy? A big part, in fact. And probably bits of Hegel if you look. Not to mention a lot of the Romantics before that. Probably RV would say use what you can. And if so it would seem slightly churlish to argue.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 November 2009
If you are interested in buying this book, you probably already have leanings towards Vaneigem's point of view. It is interesting, even 40 years on, but is dated. It is a bit too hippy and late 60's / early 70's for my liking. A good read though.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2003
Vaneigem writes with a polemical, lucid dignity which eluded the faux-Nietzschean (although insightful) "Society of the Spectacle." This book is a pleasure to read for its critique rather than its revolutionary solutions, and as such is a work of exciting poeticism. A great writer and an inspirational, passionate work.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)