Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

  • Squee
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
17
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 July 2003
In short: buy this if you are even vaguely interested, then reflect on the wisdom of your investment.
This book contains the material from Squee #1-#4 and the stuff from Johnny The Homicidal Maniac (JtHM) #1-#7 that was missed out of the Director's Cut. So your continuous pain because of this omission can end. Rejoice!
The book is divided into two sections, the first comprising of the Squee stories and the second containing Wobbly Headed Bob, Meanwhile..., True Tales of Human Drama and Happy Noodle Boy. Squee is funnier and more light-hearted than JtHM. It's full of silly Jhonen-brand fun. If you've read JtHM, think of the "head explody" section and you'll have an idea of what to expect. (If you haven't read it, you should really buy that book too! :p ) The second half is also amazing, with the Meanwhiles in particular being of such a high quality it's almost impossible to pick a favourite.
Buy now and prepare yourself to love it and be quoting it to everyone you know for quite some time.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2004
Squee is a child who lives a tortured life filled with school bullies, overbearing teachers, alien abductions, a psychotic and murderous next-door neighbor who makes occasional visits, and parents who wish that he never existed... and tell him so at every opportunity. His only friends are his teddy bear- who "tells" him to kill or maim those who hate him- and the Anti-Christ himself, who happens to be a fellow classmate at Squee's school.
Squee has the misfortune of invariably being at the wrong place at the wrong time- every time. But, here's the sick part... the worse his misfortune is, the more I laugh at it. I guess I'm just an insensitive lout, but I just can't help it.
The Squee trade paperback contains a lot of sick and disturbing moments, and I've laughed like a maniac at just about every single one of them. The 'Dooky-blood is after me!' scene had me rollin' in the aisles so hard that there were those who were wondering what the #ell was wrong with me.
Also notable about this collection is the theme of kids getting traumatized in every way, shape, and form one could imagine. From brainwashing, to getting blown up or mangled, to neglect, it gets covered one way or another in this book. And I find every one of them to be very entertaining. The many scenes of torture and pain are so unbelievably over-the-top that I can't help but laugh at the grotesque misfortunes of others. The "Tickle Me Hellmo" comic near the end of the book is a virtual smorgasbord of kiddie trauma, and is one of the high points of this comic collection.
I consider this the best work by the artist and writer Jhonen Vasquez. Although most would consider his 'Johnny The Homicidal Maniac' comic series to be his magnum opus (available at www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/0943151163/qid=1084205119/sr=1-1/ref=sr_1_2_1/026-1744450-1571658), I was a lot more entertained by his efforts with Squee. Also, Vasquez's artwork is more refined, and he seems more comfortable with his story telling and artistic style. But even though I found Squee to be a superior effort, I do recommend that you read 'Johnny T.H.M.' as well-- that's where Squee originated, after all...
'Late
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2004
Jhonen Vasquez did not disappoint me when I decided to pick up "Squee's Wonderful Big Giant Book of Unspeakable Horrors." Just when I thought he couldn't top "Johnny the Homicidal Maniac," I read this and found myself laughing aloud like crazy. Dark, twisted, disturbing, and overwhelmingly hilarious, this comic collection is unforgettable and highly entertaining--even if you don't want to admit it!!
If you've read "Johnny the Homicidal Maniac," then you will be familiar with the cute little boy named, Squee. Squee is a kid who seems to have the worst luck in the world. His parents hate him and wish that he would someday vanish without a trace. All of the school kids hate him and torment him. To make matters worse, he has the most dreadful nightmares about monsters and aliens. He even meets these creatures when he isn't asleep. From running away from his cannibalistic grandpa to persuading the aliens to take his parents away instead of him, from battling the dreaded "Dustmites" to the threat of becoming a mindless zombie school student, Squee is destined to grow up having some serious "issues." The book also includes the comic strips "Wobbly Headed Bob," "Fun with Filler" (aww, look at the cuuute little bunny rabbit doing his filler dance!!),"Happy Noodle Boy," and the "Meanwhile" strips that were very much absent from "JTHM: The Director's Cut."
While I think "Johnny the Homicidal Maniac" is Jhonen's most creative and disturbing work, I found "Squee's Wonderful Big Giant Book of Unspeakable Horrors" to be much more entertaining and hilarious. There were many times where I was laughing very loudly as I was reading this. It's so funny that so many horrible things can happen to such a cute little character. It makes you feel guilty for laughing... but that quickly goes away and then you laugh some more--and in an even more demonic and unrelenting tone! The drawings are great and the characters are extremely humorous. Another cool thing is that Jhonen LOVES to throw in hidden messages and jokes within certain panels, so be on the lookout for them. Another reason to read this more than once.
Again, this is not intended for younger readers. While I found this much more easier to take than "JTHM," it's still very twisted, dark, disturbing and graphic. There are some very dark themes and imagery in this collection of comics, so it's not intended for those who easily get offended or disturbed. And, you must keep in mind that this book is here strictly for entertainment purposes only and is not to be taken seriously. Jhonen loves to poke fun at everything wrong in society--and even at his own work!
If you want to read something very twisted, deranged, and hilarious, "Squee's Wonderful Big Giant Book of Unspeakable Horrors" is just the thing for you. Again, it's nothing for the easily offended. Even though it's a pretty short read, I found this to be one heck of an entertaining read and it's something I'll be sure to read a number of times in the very near future. Another slam-dunk for Vasquez and his sick and warped sense of humor! -Michael Crane
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 February 2006
I am the first to admit it. My sense of humour is seriously nasty & this comic book could have been written for me!
We are in seriously dark terriotory here, bad things happening to neglected children, but it is just so insanely done you can't help but smile, then snigger then guffaw loudly (avoid reading it on a train!).
It is, as i say, really, really not to everyones sense of humour and i would advise caution to anyone who is sensitive or easily offened by, er, anthing really.
What really makes me reccomend it is that once you've read the story of the hapless Squee, you get shed loads of other little comic sketches. Sort of 'Special Features' in book form. The story of Squee is fabulous, but the extra short set in the restaurant is one of the funniest things i have ever read. The pay off line is predictable but also hilarious.
More Squee please Mr Vasquez!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
As a fan of JTHM i was curious about squee i was mid way between wanting to read it and not because i didnt know what he would offer as the main character. But eventually curiosity won and i now have squees book of horrors ...i think that was the title??

Anyway i found squee a fair read, far more light hearted and less angsty than his wierd naibour Nny. But at the same time not nearly as funny, i would have thought shmee would have been in it more also. I did enjoy the devil child ones probably more than squee, and id love to read a comic with him as the star.
I wasnt to interested in the other ones i hate happy noodle boy and there only so much wobbly headed bob one can laugh at withot getting bored of his depressive state of mind the meanwhiles were okaii though
overall the comic was okay but i wouldnt get another squee one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2008
Poor Squee (real name Todd), his parents wish he was dead and his neighbour is Johnny the Homicidal Maniac. He is tortured by school bullies and suffers horrific nightmares and his parents really, really don't care in the least.
What's a kid to do? Go utterly insane? He's got his teddy, Shmee, who tells him to KILL (but Todd's a good boy) and some, err aliens to guide him.....Supremely dark and funny for all our disturbed minds! Also contains " Fillerbunny," "Meanwhile" and the genius "Wobbly headed bob" who is just too clever for this world and its meagre minded inhabitants!! More hilarity from Mr. Vasquez! If the "Meanwhile" segments don't get you laughing.....i don't know what will!
Ideal for all goths, misery-guts and depressives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2015
After reading JTHM, I just had to buy this. Seeing how Squee manages to get through his day is just as hilarious and gruesome as you would expect. But, I would recommend that you buy and read JTHM BEFORE you buy this one, because then some of the jokes become a little funnier.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
Fantastic story, gloriously grim and dark, with gorgeous hand drawn artwork, Bought as a gift for my Girlfriend, she and I alike adore this book, and others related books from the JTHM universe. Very pleased! :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2003
This book has it all; the blood, the swearing, the hilariously side splitting moments and cute lovable charachter we know as squee. he is a terrified kid who makes his way through life being taunted by many a petifying incident. anyone with a sence of humour wil love this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2016
A Christmas Present for my Sister who is a huge fan of these comics, it came in good time for Christmas and was well recieved!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)