Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 January 2011
If you are looking for gluten free alternatives to everyday baked items, you can't go wrong with this offering. Fife has compiled an extensive list of recipes, ranging from breads to pastries and even Yorkshire Puddings. Many of the recipes taste as good, if not better, than their more traditional counterparts; when served to people who weren't aware of the origin, many of them had no idea these weren't made with "real" flour.

Even if you aren't cutting out the gluten, the recipes in the book will give you plenty of variety and is worth a look.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
this is very useful and the 1st receipe i tried was the coconut scones absolutely delicious,the reason i use and value this book is that i`m diabetic and the receipes are great for me, well done ,more please
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2011
I am really disappointed. Coconut flour is low in carbohydrate so would be a great flour to make breads and different types of pastry with if only I had a decent recipe book as I need very low carb meals.

So, I bought this book as well as some coconut flour from Amazon, the cover says "A delicious Low-Carb, Gluten Free Alternative to Wheat".

But many or even most of the recipes also use high carb ingredients like Agave syrup, corn starch and sugar, even the recipe for bread. The author tells you to stick carefully to the recipes as coconut flour is tricky to work with and nothing like wheat flour, so I was hesitant to change Agave syrup to an alternative low carb sweetener like the zero carb Da Vinci syrups or stevia extract. Why no use of sweeteners? Even Splenda is better than sugar. The author justifies this by suggesting Agave syrup is natural and healthier than sugar - not true, some newish research suggests otherwise.

There are various lower sugar versions of recipes included but these are still far too high in sugar for many on low carb diet.
Also there seem to be gratuitous use of this flour in recipes where you don't need any flour at all: Hummus for instance which never has flour normally, just chickpeas (garbanzo beans), tahini oil, lemon juice and various seasonings. This one has 1/4 cup of coconut flour too.

This is not a cookbook for diabetics who control their blood sugar levels with diet alone, or anyone struggling with their weight or both. The funny thing is that it emphasises the low carb content of coconut flour in the introduction but then never follows through with low carb recipes or the carb count for any of them. What a pity.

I cannot comment on the quality of the recipes for those wanting a gluten free life as I couldn't use most of them. They sound delicious, many are versions of American favourites - muffins, corn breads etc. and the book is not aimed the UK reader.
22 Comments| 86 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
Got this for my son for christmas, he mentioned that he was looking at this as part of his training regime for a triathalon. He is impressed with some of the receipts, he has since tried some of them and found them to be excellent.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2008
The book explains very well how to use Coconut flour and it is not hard to use the American measures. From the UK point of view the portions are large and large dish sizes are used such as 9 inch. I have had good results scaling down the recipes once you understand the principles involved using Coconut Flour.
The main problem in the UK is obtaining Coconut Flour.
44 Comments| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
really good recipes, very tasty! Used for a low carb diet, just substituted the sugars for sweeteners. Simple to follow instructions worked well. Not tried coconut flour before, but really impressed with the flavour and texture, yum!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2013
good book, easy to follow. recoommend to anyone new to using coconut flour. brownies are great. great for wheat intolerant folks.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
The trouble with coconut flour is that it sucks up moisture. Therefore the recipes use lots of eggs. I tried the bread recipe and got a "bread" with a layer of baked egg at the bottom of the pan where it hadn't used all the egg. Not impressed with coconut flour although this book does explain the difficulties in using it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2015
What a relief to find a great combination of very practical recipes backed by very sound nutritional principles. Even I can get the recipes to work! Very well done BOTH contributors to the book!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
Concise, easy to follow. Will look for same author again. Pity there were no photos. Have made several things in the few weeks I have had the book, with excellent results.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)