Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
19
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£15.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 July 2008
This is an amazing book to read. I read it while making the transition from extract to all-grain brewing. Actually that's not quite true, I bought this book and it inspired me to switch to all-grain brewing, which I have definitely not regretted.

What this book has is lots of all-grain recipes, which you can brew as they stand, or use as starting points for your own ideas. Mosher gives lots of hints about where you could take different recipes, and the book is packed with tips about how to combine ingredients to make great tasting beer. It's not exactly a book about how to design your own recipes, but it will get you thinking in that direction, and if designing your own recipes from scratch is your aim, this book is be a great place to start.

Two caveats:
1. Keep in mind that the gallons means US gallons.
2. It seems like somewhere along the way some of the numbers in the book got mixed up. Before you brew a recipe I recommend checking that the numbers all add up. I.e. that the amount of grain used should give the OG the recipe says, and if not check the errata on Mosher's website. This might seem like a big defect in a book of beer recipes, but it really isn't. The value of this book is the wisdom it imparts, and working out the correct numbers is not to difficult.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2010
I don't want to repeat anything said in the other reviews. I will say that this book is very very good and I have not put it down for the last couple of weeks. It is written with humour (yes funny), historical info, recipes (extract, all grain and steeping techniques), technical info and jargon. This book seems to be aimed at someone who wants to teeter on the edge of the best possible extract brewing and maybe even venture into the big world of all grain brewing. There are many conversion methods to accompany variation in personal approach.

This book is a great book for anyone who brews or indeed anyone who does not care for brewing but loves to read about the subject.

Awesome.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2008
This is a book you'll read just for the fun of it, and when finished you'll have a lot of inspiration to brew with beers with an edge - and a lot of straightforward recipes to follow. This has certainly become one of my favorite books!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2015
I have just started doing 'home brew' & I have done a couple of LME following J Palmers guidelines. But I started getting to serious about the technical side with so many different thoughts/opinions out there it started to seem like a chore & was bogging me down.

This book has completely freed me to embrace a craft & create my own ambrosia & if it goes wrong so what. Very easy to read in an engaging style but I guess it is a bit like marmite
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2015
A madly detailed book ...everything you could possibly ever want to know about beer making. Lots of humour and although I am a completely noivce really enjoying the bits about the history of beer making and photos of glass ware for beer from the dark ages. Excelent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2011
This is not a book for the beginner - I'd recommend CAMRA's Complete Home Brewing by Graham Wheeler or David Line's classic Big Book of Brewing for the neophyte all-grain brewer. What it is, however, is a source of inspiration for the brewer wanting to advance in the craft, seeking styles of brewing to try, and wanting to be adventurous. The book is packed with information, hints, suggestions, anecdotes, it's a joy to read. It's the exact opposite of those books that aim to help you recreate a commercial brew - it's all about pushing your brewing in new directions, and I love it. Within two days of buying the book, I was cooking up a beer that had elements of a US IPA, the English equivalent, and a Belgian Strong Ale. Once you've tried creating replica Barnsley Bitter or Highgate Mild, and once you've finessed your own standard bitter recipe you can recreate at will, it's good to go to the cutting edge, and this wonderful book will guide and delight you along the way. Like the idea of a Brown Ale with roasted walnuts in the mash? Want to combine US hop types and hopping rates with British beer styles? Fancy yourself as a Belgian Trappist brewer with a view to the wider world? Look no further.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2015
One of the best book about brewing, and a rare one at approaching brewing in a creative manner.
Mosher has a good sense of humour as well, which makes it a pleasant reading. This book is great if you want to free yourself from BJCP styles, and start brewing creatively... like a Belgian, for example!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
This is a fantastic read for home-brewers, being packed with useful tips and information, all delivered in a lucid and engaging style. I've been brewing for a while, but this has really opened up new avenues and motivated me to try out new styles and techniques.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
This is now my favourite book about home brewing. the writing style is entertaining and accessible, which is good because, otherwise, the near encyclopaedic levels of information would not be read. Randy Mosher (that is the authors name) takes us through the history of beer, the ingredients used, the different styles of beer and gives some example recipes to use yourself. The section on historic beers hat have been forgotten is fascinating.

It is written for the american audiance but metric conversions are used throughout. The book aims to inspire people to create their own recipes and brews so althogh there are some recipes the thrust of information is on how the different ingredients will affect the brew. This is where the book really shines, talking about unrefined sugars, exotic spices and adjuvant grains. I found it opened up new possibilites with regards to designing recipes. Be warned that the book expects you to have some knowledge of how to brew so not for absolute beginners but for those that have moved from kit brewing to extract and partial grain brewing or who have all grain brewing down pat but find they are lacking some inspirtation this book would be an excellent addition.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2010
I bloomin' love Mosher I do, and have bought this book for myself and friends. Although there are recipes here, and some very good ones, the real strength in this book is the quality and diversity of the writing and brewing topics covered. Everything from the history of rare brew types to specific adjunct ingredients is covered with enthusiasm and humour.

You don't need to dabble in brewing to love this book - it's a great read anyway, unlike many more instructional brewing guides - but it helps. Like to make pirate brew? Want to know how lambic beer works? Want to know how to use molasses or coriander in your ale? Or do you just want to see Randy with a massive beer mug? It's all here.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)