Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 14 April 2017
A wonderful collection of ideas
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 March 2012
This book is an interior designers nightmare - and it is an individualists dream.
The architecture of conformity built to house the masses since, I guess, the industrial revolution, has been tried and rejected by most of the people featured in this book. Within moments of flicking through it I realized that all the Interior designs TV shows I have seen have stripped away the identity of the person intending to live the in the home featured, it often seems that the goal of 'contemporary design' is to conceal a life, leaving a sterile enviroment with the threads of an individual life removed.
These incredible 'Tiny homes' have their makers' mark's all over them. They are small spaces with full lives lived within each of them, all there to see. They have dropped out, and stepped back from the mortgages, the banks, and the debts and, often, the grid, and the expectations and limits of convention and formed a home to call their own, with their own hands. Boats, treehouses, cabins, vans, cob houses all feature ...something to gladden the hearts of those of us that want to live more by using less, and have to get creative along the way (because society has failed to do so to date).
The imaginations of these makers are amazing. A great, very inspiring book :)
22 Comments| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2013
If you are think of building a compact dwelling then this book can help you to get ideas and lead you resources. If you are wanting detailed info on building compact housing or a set of plans then you can use the book to locate masters with whom you can apprentice.

The tab at the back with author Lloyd Kahn's short bio sums it all up. In it is the mention that he was the shelter editor for the early "Whole Earth Catalog". There is a bit of the ghost of that '60s classic in "Tiny Homes" in that some style is similar and there is not the kind of uniformity many might expect. That is all OK as this work does provide an excellent overview of what is going on in the world of extremely compact dwellings. There are links to manufacturers; even pieces from their literature. There are also write-ups of the work of individuals and builders working alone. I found my copy in a bookstore in Berlin when I was browsing. Of all the fine books I found that day this was the one I just couldn't leave behind. I'll recommend that my local library buy a copy as Swedes are great ones for having small summer cottages. So thank you Lloyd for this work that gives a great overview of creativity in housing and for reminding me that the spirit that drove the WEC remains alive!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2013
This is just such a terrific book! the picture quantity and quality is exactly what you want. Perfect for the casually interested as well as those wanting more info on the Tiny Homes movement. It's lead me much deeper down a path that I"m more than happy to follow. I've already bought my fifth copy to give to friends and family. If your thinking about it just buy it, it won't disappoint... and the web links featured within are great too. Look, it's Lloyd Kahn, he knows what he's talking about. The 21st Century is already looking better.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2012
This just hits you running. Whether you have a longing to throw off the burdens of sophisticated culture or have somehow managed to step into the world of 21st century alternative micro-living this is for you. From huts on wheels to tree houses and everything in between, - and not just fantasy either.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2013
Llody really has an eye for the unusual and the inspiring. If you want inspiration to help you find different ways to build and to live it is a great place to start. If you haven't read any of his previous book I would highly recommend them, especially Builders of the Pacific Coast
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 May 2013
Amazing book, great for starting point. I am going to write a dissertation on this subject and the book holds so many names and websites. It is like yellow pages for Tiny Housing.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 May 2014
Excellent
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2012
Wonderful book full of great ideas for projects, if you have the means and the opportunity but if not, its also a super coffee table book for dreamers of freedom. The tree house of our childhood, the 'camp' in the woods ........ These are the little homely nests so many of us would love to build and live in if the authorities would let us 'get away with it'. The whole book is a treat from cover to cover.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 May 2013
This is a beautiful and interesting book especially if you are bored of seeing the cardboard boxes that they are building everywhere now!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)