Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
29
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 October 2007
This is a luxurious book that will keep drawing you back to it time and time again. Filled with photos and illustrations along with fascinating stories, it details the background to several 'shelters' across the world ranging from driftwood shacks to really large structures. The key thing is that each one was built by hand as a home to be lived in.

As a book for design inspiration it is without equal (although the original 'Shelter' by the same author comes close!

There is a rustic feel about the whole book - it's almost like you are reading through someone's personal scrapbook, which in a way you are.

If you are interested in building, whether it's a shed in the garden or something much bigger, don't delay - get this book.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
Dentist's waiting room is the best place.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2012
It has taken Lloyd Khan a lifetime to amass photographs, stories, with pure infectious knowledge and shared joy of self-built homes. Even if you have no interest in architecture this book fascinates. If you have an interest in what makes a building into a home, then this book alongside his earlier book titled Shelter, is essential reference. You can read it cover to cover or dip into it whenever you have a few minutes, whichever way it lifts the spirits and inspires the senses. It should be compulsory reading for any self-builder or trainee architect or town planner or builders of any trade or nationality!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2007
this book is a wonderful collection of photos and information of many of the diverse ways people house themselves through their own effort. buy it and read it for the rest of your life.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2011
I just received this book and I am already in love with it. INtending to build my own earthy dwelling, this book gives tons of ideas and inspiration as well as information and life-stories of the people contributing to this book with their unusual but beautiful homes. Recommended.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2011
I have had this book for about 5 years and keep never tire of looking through it. Kahn's passion and enthusiasm shine through. This book covers a very wide range of different hand built structures. In many cases the photos show intimate glimpses into lives of the makers, reflected in the way they have designed and use the spaces they have created. These are at odds with mass produced and 'non-handmade' houses. The book has an inspiring and exciting sense of 60/70s idealism. I would heartily recommend to anyone interested in creating or designing buildings or structures.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2016
I've been awaiting this books arrival and now it looks like I accidentally bought the Kindle Edition which is a real shame.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2014
I was not expecting much from this book. Quite a few books on this subject are hippy or hipster-ish. Make no mistake there are a lot of hippies to be found between its covers, but this book is so much more. It is well written and beautifully illustrated with excellent photography and useful line drawings. It is both a fine coffee table book and a useful "how-to" manual. Buy it without fear and build yourself a home in touch with the environment and your own emotions.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2010
I got this book as a present for a friend they texted me every few pages as they were so excited by the ideas. Flicking through this book convinced me I need to build something the only problem was I was spoilt for choice of ideas of what and how to make it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
Lots of ideas and inspiration in this book. Even friends who think there is no life without TV and internet in every room were interested.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)