Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
18
4.6 out of 5 stars


on 4 July 2017
A very interesting and eye-opening read. A shame that it ends so abruptly though as I could quite happily have read more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
Was a bit graphic considering this is meant to be a childrens book, but I liked it. Some parts were a bit tedious but overall was pretty good.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
Great value and fast delivery. Many thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2017
Good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
A great, fascinating read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
Recommended to me as great study of an ambulance driver in the Great War - well written and I, in turn, would recommend it unhesitatingly.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2000
Helen Zenna Smith is the pseudonym of Evadne Price who served as an ambulance driver in France during the FWW. This totally compelling fictionalised account of a woman's experience of the War should be ranked alongside E. M. Remarque's 'All Quiet on the Western Front', Siegfried Sassoon's 'Memoirs of an Infantry Officer' or Edmund Blunden's 'Undertones of War'. The value of the experiences of women who saw active service during the FWW are beginning to be recognised in academic circles thanks to the work of feminist critics, but it is time that such recognition came from the general public as well, and this book is one of many that is capable of bringing those experiences to wider attention. A wonderfully written book that is worth reading. Highly recommended !!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
Not So Quiet... is the fictional, but autobiographical account of the author, Helen Zenner Smith's experiences during the First World War. It is one of the most uncompromising, unflinching accounts for the First World War I have ever read. Perhaps made all the more startling by the fact that it is a woman's experience of life at the front.

'Smithy' is a volunteer ambulance driver, living and working in close quarters with other women volunteers, she ferries wounded men from ambulance trains and casualty clearing stations to various hospitals. There is no false nobility in her account; the men are shattered and in pieces, both literally and metaphorically and 'Smithy' herself is brutally affected by horror and by her endless, exhausting daily routines under the iron hand of 'Mrs Bitch' the commandant who regularly doles out unnecessary punishment to the exhausted, traumatised women.

This novel affected me greatly, partly I think because it surprised me so much. It is far removed from the traditional, noble 'daughters of England' representations of women in war and much closer to the reality of war writing that has been associated with the likes of Robert Graves and Seigfried Sassoon. I don't understand why this work is not read alongside accepted 'important' war writing, because it deserves its place up there and deserves a much wider readership than I suspect it currently gets.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2002
This semi-autobiography, moulded in the style of All Quiet on the Western Front (hence the pun on "Quiet" which also connotes the supposed passivity of women during wartime), is a merciless but utterly gripping account of female ambulance drivers on the Western Front. It's a welcome breath of air, because it doesn't give the usual take on the war and it doesn't have the sort of reservations and evasion that even lauded war writers like Sassoon or Graves use. This is non-stop trauma and vitriol, but it's so well written it sucks the reader in from the start. Unlike the whininess of Vera Brittain (proclaimed the "mistress of self-pity" by De Groot) this is by no means a feminist book, but has a real punch to it. It is impossible not to empathise with the narrator, again an often fraught task with the more accredited war writers. "Smithy's" hatred of the war and its dehumanising conditions (both of the soldiers and her fellow drivers) is tinged with obvious signs of war neurosis. Particulalry gripping is her friend "The Bug" succumbing to shellshock and being told that she has exhibited "a disgraceful exhibition of cowardice on the part of an Englishwoman", and the description of driving towards field hospitals in terrible conditions listening to the men in the truck screaming.
Smith intentionally dehumanises the men throughout the book in an attempt to distance herself from their condition and one is left under no illusion that this is one of the only ways to preserve her own sanity. The author's contrast with the heroic claptrap in letters from home is also presented with such force and anger it makes the reader wince with empathy. A grim job that was always sold high, this is a real eye opener both in terms of the female perspective on war and the situations faced by them. Cracking stuff.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2004
I was assigned this book for a class and therefore went into the book thinking that I would hate it. I didn't want to read it and then I picked it up and started reading. This is the best book I've ever read for school. It's even in the top ten of books I've ever read. If a teacher needs a book of this sort for their class, I recommend this book because your students will overwhelmingly love it. There is so much that can be paralleled to modern day and the characters are so realistic and they seem like someone you know already. You will love it, I promise.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse