Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 April 2016
Very useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2003
Children with Down syndrome often have low muscle tone (hypotonia) and increased flexibility which can affect overall gross motor development. There are many issues that parents need to be aware of if their child has hypotonia. Even the way you hold your baby can affect his gross motor development. This book shows how to encourage and maximize a child's gross motor development - head control, rolling, sitting, cruising, walking, kicking, jumping - from infancy to age six. Pat Winders has written the "bible" of physical therapy for children with Down syndrome. It contains useful information for parents, therapists, and teachers.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2007
If you have just had a baby with Down Syndrome, buy this book - it'll teach you more about motor development in DS children than your child's physiotherapist will. Uplifting, optimistic, crystal clear, it has exercises on every phase of motor development with clear illustrative pictures with DS children as models. The author not only explains how you should do the exercises, she also explains why, and what posture faults etc you should look out for. I used this book to create "gym sessions" with my daughter when she was a baby and we had great fun with it.
It also has a table with average ages and age ranges for when DS children reach certain "milestones" which will stop you wondering if/when your child is ever going to get to a certain stage.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 1998
Step by step how to guide to help you lead your child to the next level and on from there. The book starts with infancy thru/ walking; then post walking. Post walking is where our child is. We are building an obstical course-like toy to help her "walk on uneven surfaces, up and down incline planes and balance beam skills". Other things we are trying that we learned from this book is the importance of riding toy and challenging her to stand on one foot (like when kicking a ball). Good guide to learn a few tricks to help your 2 - 3 year old with Downs.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2010
This is used every day by my senior physiotherapists who work in Early Services. It has very valuable information for them and parents/carers alike. Really well worth it!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2011
This is an amazingly simple but really effective book to support the development of a child with Down Syndrome. I have read lots of different developmental books and have to say that this is by far the best one I have come across. Each chapter is dedicated to specific developmental skills and has a number of exercises (with accompanying pictures) to help you work through a programme; equally at the end of each chapter is a checklist so that you can monitor progress.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2012
A must have for new parents of a child with Down Syndrome! Very comprehensive detail for each stage of development and explains the exercises required to progress physically development. I really liked the photos used in each chapter to back up the written explanations and found the book overall very easy to follow!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
I have a little Granddaughter with Down's syndrome ,and I found this book excellent.It will be a great help to us as a family.Great reference book .Would definitely recommend this book to anyone , family , teachers ,....ect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2016
This book will be helpful to me as I watch my little d.s. grand-daughter develop and
hopefully it will instruct me how best to help her.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2008
This book is clear, well laidout and is practical.

The language is simple the diagrams work and the pictures are relevant and encouraging.

Buy this book and you and your baby will be empowered.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse