Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
15
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
2
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 December 2015
I absolutely devoured this book. For the -I think- first time ever, I have read a book about Egypt that I could get along with. The author, along with his companion in many parts of the book, stick to the facts discovered and not so many theories that do not make sense. The author has managed to stay away from the usual 'my theory is this,' way of writing. He does speculate at times, but makes a point of saying that they need more research and evidence before they could write more on the subject. Great book, great read, thoroughly recommend it, but do read it with an open mind. If you are into mainstream Egyptology, you may be surprised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2015
Good review of anomalies in Egypt and personal anecdotes. Enjoyable reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2011
A very easy-to-read overview of Egyptology and why a lot of it is probably inaccurate, based as it is on the mistranslation of ancient Egyptian hieroglyphics by the Greeks who were seen as barbarians by the Egyptians. What we currently think we know about ancient Egypt, therefore, comes from what the Greeks thought they knew - which apparently was not very much, as the ancient Egyptian wisdom-keepers did not pass their inner secrets on to the Greeks and nor did they tell them all of the meanings of their largely symbolic written language. This knowledge did not die with the ancient Egyptian civilisation, however, but lives on today in the form of local initiates to the teachings of the ancients.

The Land Of Osiris introduces the oral tradition of ancient Khem or Khemit which has been handed down for millennia and is now recounted by the author from the teachings of local wisdom keeper Abd'El Hakim Awyan, a local tour guide known to many who lived a few hundreds yards from the Giza plateau. This tradition confirms the belief that the true history of ancient Egypt, or Khem, is very different from, and far far older than, the currently accepted version and is corroborated by, among many others, the works of Christopher Dunn who documents unmistakeable evidence in far-off ancient times of advanced machining techniques we are only just starting to use today (such as ultra-sonic drilling), and by John Anthony West and Robert Schoch who have demonstrated that the Sphinx is far older than is currently accepted due to the irrefutable presence of massive water erosion around the structure and its enclosure, the type of erosion generally accepted by geologists as being the result of thousands of years of rain.

This ancient oral tradition teaches that ancient Khem was a highly-advanced society which was both matriarchal and matrilineal, and was originally based on the ancient river Nile, named Ur Nil by one German researcher, far to the west of the modern-day river. To demonstrate the truth of Hakim assertions the author undertook field trips far out in the western desert and found clear evidence of ancient stone works as well as water erosion over wide areas, and also confirmed that even the slope of the land from west to east helps to corroborate this belief whilst effectively refuting much that is currently accepted about the current Nile's role in ancient Egypt.

Linking this up with evidence that the whole of the Giza plateau and indeed many Egyptian historical sites have hundreds of miles of tunnels cut in perfectly straight lines through the solid bedrock beneath them, as well as much else, the author takes us on a spell-binding journey around the major Per Neters (Neter, as explained by the author, is another mistranslated term which means, instead of "deity", rather aspect of deity; in this context it means House of Energy) around the Land Of Osiris, Bu Wizr, in the northern part of current-day Egypt, to give substance to the new paradigm of Khemitology - the pyramids, those ancient, ancient structures which current Egyptology wrongly insists were built as tombs in relatively modern dynastic times. This new paradigm should be based, says Hakim, upon the understanding that the pyramids were built tens of thousands of years ago as part of a highly-advanced ancient society's power-generation system, as well as serving various other functions such as centres of healing and revitalisation due to the ever-present acoustic harmonies and natural energies and vibrations, also being fuelled and surrounded by water. Indeed, the whole system was largely dependent upon the water flow supplied from the ancient western river through the aforementioned underground tunnel system, as well as many above-surface structures (and more pyramids), some of which are still evidence and some of which may now still be buried beneath the sand.

Hakim matter-of-factly suggests that the Sphinx is approximately 54,000 years old, and the pyramids far older. The civilisation was largely destroyed during a great global cataclysm which occurred approximately 11,500 years ago, an event which is thought by many "conventional" scholars and authors to perhaps have been the Great Flood as the last ice age ended and which has been suggested by many "unconventional" scholars and authors to have been the close passage of a comet which then became the planet Venus, or the return of a rogue planet on an orbit which brings it into the inner Solar System only once every few thousand years, and various other scenarios. After this cataclysm the remains of the society, over thousands of years, slowly evolved into what we now know as the dynastic period of Egyptian history, also suggested by the author to have been the birth of patriarchy, during which a few attempts were made to copy the grand works of the past. The culmination of these appears to have been the Step Pyramid of Djoser, supposedly the oldest Egyptian "pyramid" but more probably the youngest. As the author points out, it is an strange fact about ancient Egypt that the skill of the builders apparently regressed as time went on; the most spectacular structures are in reality the oldest.

The Land Of Osiris is an eye-opening and oft-times jaw-dropping introduction to Khemitology and the indigenous oral tradition which lays out the cultural framework for Christopher Dunn's powerful theory about the true nature of the pyramids, and like Dunn's book, I found it so fascinating I had to read it twice, as I'm sure will most who read it. A must have.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2014
I was full of expectation,new author (to me) with a different slant on a neglected subject. OH DEAR!! This guy is away with the fairies and the book has a tiny bit of realistic foundation, the vast bulk of his ramblings are pure claptrap more akin to mediums and these folk that can contact your dead relatives. Try to pin down any of his theories if you can, you will have more success going to an African witch doctor to have your terminal cancer cured. I read the book all the way through in the hope it would get better. I finally put it in the waste bin where it belongs.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2002
Much time and research has been spent on the reevaluation of ancient Egyptian history and in this is book no less so.For aswell as increasing the evidance for advanced planning and technology in ancient Egypt,The author with the aid of an indignous wisdom keeper explores many right brain expereances and concepts.Along with a valued new terminology and many new and thourght provoking facts this book will earn its place among
the others that are fruits of minds unshackeled by orthodoxy.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
I can honestly say that I have never read such an interesting and informative book. The history of the region lays bare the popular misconception of ancient Egypt . Every concept currently fashionable is given the lie, from the patriarchal/matriarchal mistake, to the interaction between the Egyptians and the Greeks on the one hand; to the construction and purpose of the pyramides on the other. A riveting read raising more questions than answering queries
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2011
In the book the author Stephen Mehler proposes an alternate Egyptian tradition which has been keep to a few initiates since many thousands of years before present. This tradition introduces an alternate route for the present river Nile or rather an entirely different different river on whose banks the present day oasis are located. He also christians the role of the well known pyramids in view of this alternate tradition.

The book is a very good read for people looking for alternations and thus forms a basis for further serious investigations. I am sure Stephen would follow this up soon with another book with more concrete evidence to support his theory.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2014
After comparing this to others in the field, I selected this as probably the best of the crop. It had great potential and was intriguing in places, but it didn't strike me as authoritative and stumbled over trumpeting minutae, a common problem with this form of writing, I have found. All of this being a strictly personal judgement, of course - I look for books like this to convince me. This one didn't.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2017
Very insightful and impeccably researched book on an alternative ancient Egypt. Mehler is very well placed to write on this subject due to his education and his connection to his Khemetic friend and teacher. A vital read if you've got an interest in the subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2013
I love a good read, and this is just that. Nothing is like opening a new book - e-readers eat your heart out! Will be added to my bookcase to be read again and again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse