Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 December 2009
The introduction by David Hatcher Childress is bad history with little relevance to the author's account of the history of the Knights Templars. However once you get past the introduction the history by Charles G. Addison is good and well researched for its time (written in the mid-nineteenth century).
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2000
This is an excellent easy to read and digest book giving a good overall view of the history of the Knights Templar. If you are looking for a beginners guide to the Templars then you can do no better than this book.
Quite simply once lifted it is a compelling story, difficult to leave down.
Anyone who is interested in the Templars should not be without a copy of this book!
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2007
I don't know why this impressive nineteenth-century history of the Templars, which dismisses the mad theories about the Templars that abounded at the time, has been published with an illiterate introduction filled with new-age nonsense about the Order. The intro is completely unrelated to the rest of the book, which Childress gives no evidence that he even read! Addison would be most offended to have such an unworthy appendage attached to his scholarly work.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2000
I was distinctly disappointed in the introduction ~ not only were there several errors in both grammar and syntax, but Hatcher Childress twice quotes the date of Bannockburn as 1324, when in fact it was 10 years ealrier in 1314! Also he states that the day was won by a body of Knights Templar making a final charge late in the day ~ yet the whole content of the rest of the book is all about the Templars being in the very forefront of the fighting. So, why did they wait all day before commiting to the Scots cause at Bannockburn? Otherwise, it is an essentially 'dry' history, with too many footnotes in Latin ~ why no interpration into English? All-in-all, not what I expected,: better volumes are available.
lloyd.carey@virgin.net
22 Comments| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2007
This is an excellent book on the subject but spoiled by the pathetic justification of plagiarism written by Childless, which has no bearing or relationship to the first class work it has marred. Buy it simply for the real authors Addisons work, it is worth it.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2012
Very interesting amd well written account of the Knights Templars.I Would recommend it. The Kindle edition could be better laid out though.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
I found this a very interesting and informative account of the Knights Templars. If you have any interest in them and not too much knowledge, this book will fill in all the empty information. Highly recommended as a good insight into their lives.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
I was a bit disappointed in the layout of the story. It was more like an history excercise that a historical read.
The fact that it was a real bargain helped matters. However my son thoroughly enjoyed it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
Very Good Historical record and informative. I did however, find the extensive use of Latin irritating. Perhaps this is necessary for those taking an earnest study of the period.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2013
Engaging! A fascinating subject thoroughly researched and well wriiten. I found it an interesting read that exrtended my knowledge and understanding of the Knights Templars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)