Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
35
Nine Lives
Format: Paperback|Change


on 18 June 2017
It's because we had brave men like Alan Deere in our ranks that we were able to defeat the Luftwaffe in the dark days of the Battle of Britain and beyond. A superb read and its hard to believe its a true story at times. The title is truly suitable. Well written and enjoyable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2017
Excellent read. I was born on Hornchurch, Essex and I remember air shows at the airdrome. The Spitfire and Hurricane were always well represented and the sound, for a child, was amazing. I met Mr. Tuck in the 60s but would like to have met Mr. deere also.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 January 2017
A great read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 January 2018
Purchased this book for my dad for Father’s Day, highly recommends if you like personal experiences
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 October 2009
Al Deere, a career officer, put pen to paper in the 1950's to right some wrongs by misinformed people who were 'talking rubbish' about the RAF in the early years of WWII.
As a consequence this brave man was the first pilot to produce an accurate account by one of the 'Few' who fought in the Battle Of Britain.
This is a timeless book about raw courage, duty and above all heroism, although Al would undoubtedly have dismissed the latter as being no more than 'doing the job'.
If you want to know the truth about the Battle of Britain and the brave men who fought in it, then look no further and purchase this excellent and refreshingly honest account.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 September 2017
A great first hand account of an historically significant battle. Nicely written, you can feel the exhaustion of the pilots, and their desperate struggle against the odds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2017
Great read if you like your war history from those who actually participated at the time. Also great for lovers of the Spitfire giving insights into just how it performed in the thick of battle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 February 2012
A fantastic book about a great man who flew and fought for this country during the Battle of France and the Battle of Britain. He rose through the ranks to the final rank of Air Commodore, he deserved that honour along with his DFC and Bar, DSO and CBE.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2009
As an Avid reader of all WW11
This is a first class read. How did these people keep going
We certainly do owe them so much
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 October 2010
a very good read. the book covers AL DEERE'S life from his time growing up in NZ to coming to the UK to fufil his dream of becoming a pilot. he joins the RAF and trains at Netheravon.
he then ends up as a member of 92 squadron in the South east of England,providing air support at the evacuation of Dunkirk.
then follows his involvement in the Battle of Britain, this is where the book comes to life and you feel that you are up there with him, the sorties& dogfights.
it must have been so hard to carry on day in, day out in the relentless air battles against the Nazis, watching your mates get shot down, being shot down yourself- this happened to Al a few times during the course of the war.
YES, we owe these brave guys so much in their defence of Britain.
the dangers they encountered and endured, thinking to themselves, WILL I SEE TOMORROW????, many didn't!!!
the fact that most of the guys who fought in the RAF during WW2 were only in their late teens and early 20s is even more incredible.
yes, we really do owe these guys a great deal.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)