Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
14
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£2.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2017
Pretty small book. Bought as a novelty joke.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
Great gift for my Nephew travelling around Australia.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2009
Those of you who are expecting a full dictionary will be disappointed with this book. It's small, compact. It does give you some funny comparisons into the Oz lingo just don't expect a full phrase book
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2010
I bought this book to give as a silly gift to an English friend, only to discover that the very first entry refers to 'Abo" as a term for an Indigenous Australian! And 'gin' as a term for an Indigenous woman! This book was reprinted in 2009!

That's like saying that it's fine to call someone a "Paki" in the UK. Surely someone else has written complaining about how offensive this is! I've wasted my money, as of course I can't give it away and the postage to return it will be the same price as the book. I'm writing to the publishers.

PS. If you're English and intending to travel to Australia, I wouldn't advise using the term, "abo" unless you want to be viewed as a racist idiot. If you ARE a racist idiot, please don't visit Australia, we have enough of our own already.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2012
Gave this to a friend who was moving to Australia and she loves it! Covers most common word differences and has also provided her Australian friends with a giggle as some of the words are only used in certain areas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2009
It was ok but the contents were a bit thin on the ground. I have the US slang and the Cockney Rhyming which were great but this didn't have nearly as many entries.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2010
Yes the product was what I wanted but it said the price on the back 1.99 - less than what I'd paid which I found disappointing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2015
just what i wanted for a friend going to OZ
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2016
Went down as a joke really well!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2016
Very useful and amusing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)