Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 6 October 2003
This book should be the prize possesion of anybody interested in shrooms. It is well written, has lots of pictures, and the quality and layout of the book are very high. This book lists, describes and pictures pretty much every psilocybin mushroom currently know to man, and is an invaluble reference guide.
As somebody has already mentioned, the only slight down fall of the book is that some of the photographs are a little small, but considering the sheer number of photographs in the book, maybe they have to be small to fit them all in.
The book also contains tips on taking mushrooms, and information on the levels of psychoactive compounds contained within the various species.
I was amazed at the number of speices of psilocybin mushrooms that can be found in the UK, as very few "normal" mushroom field guides ever mention them.
I highly recomend this publication to anybody with an interest in magic mushrooms.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2004
has detailed info on how to identify mushrooms - with excellent quality photographic illustrations. do note that it does not provide any info on growing them, so steer clear unless you are going picking. this book will also be very good as a primer to understanding the anatomy of the mushroom. as not all the mushrooms will apply to you if you luive in example - england and rarely travel, the additional knowledge that this book brings makes it a worthwhile addition to any mycophile's library.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2010
Great photographs and informative text plus links to other sources of information. If you want to know more about these marvellous plants and the theories/history that surround them then this is a good starting point. It includes suggested doses and some precautions,

As a guide to the species it is top class.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 1997
This book is the best single resource for information about Psilocybin mushrooms. The book starts out with a brief history of the use of these mushrooms, and then moves on to a
general review on their nature and habitat. There is an extensive section listing many different kinds of Psilocybes and similar mushrooms with a thorough description and photograph on most of them.

If there is a single flaw in this book, it would be that the pictures are small, and therefore difficult to scan for details. Also, some of the pictures aren't very good in general, making it difficult to see how the mushrooms in the pictures match the descriptions in the book. I would suggest more and bigger photographs for the second edition of this book.
I highly recommend this book to anyone with any kind of interest in Psilocybe mushrooms.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2016
great book but still not quite the great identifier i was looking for. we need a book with plenty/multiple photos of each mushroom that grows in Britain and Northern Europe. Someday someone will put one of these together because the psilocybin mushrooms of the british isles old book is useless unless you want to identify P Semincealata, which, come on, most people who would be interested in such a book, already know how to identify. i don't think Stamets book is even good enough to safely identify wavy caps (and there are a few more types that grow in Britain. they are a little rarer, contain a bit less active alkaloids but they're there for utilisation).
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
A must read for anyone interested in these wonderful little mushrooms. Fabulous descriptions with coloured photographs, highly recommend. Thank you
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2013
Paul S. is an awesome writer. The first time I was introduced to his works was from a YouTube video which also contained lots of helpful information. The book is detailed and clearly written it also highlights some of the prejudice that he faced when deciding to study magic mushrooms which I thought was interesting we need more people like him. It contains pictures really clear however they are a little small but that is not a problem since the text that describes the mushroom is really well written. I would recomend this for anyone who is keen to learn more about mushrooms of the Psilocybe genus and other psychoactive genus as it tackles every aspect of it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2016
Great book for those aspiring mycologists
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2016
Lots of useful info for field trippers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
Excellent.Highly recomended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)