Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
16
3.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 June 2004
I wasn't sure what to expect when I bought this but I have been very pleased with the purchase. The book has patterns for an 1890 style corset (with steel boning),1860 style corset, chemise, drawers, 1750 style corset (with shoulder straps and steel boning) and a 1700 style corselet. The patterns need to be drafted from the grid. The book has intructions for how to make each item, but sometimes steps are missed out and some guesswork needs to be employed. Also, the lists of notions are inaccurate (I ended up buying far too much boning for a start!). However, I would recommend this book to people who can use dress patterns but have never made corsets before (like myself).
0Comment| 71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2000
Although small on size this book is big on information. It give details and small scale patterns on how to make corsets from all eras. A must for the amature costume maker, or professional goth.
0Comment| 71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2003
This book contains useful patterns and tips for making modern versions of period corsets. However, these are by no means historically accurate, and they fail to take into account how corsets were used to alter the posture as well as restrict the waist.
It is a good book if you are looking for an easy to wear version of period dress and are not concerned with exact reproductions.
0Comment| 68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2007
This book is a bit of a shock really. It is a tiny notebook but what an amazing resource. It contains a lot of information on how to construct a corset from the grid patterns printed, although it does assume basic dressmaking skills. If you don't know how to apply bias tape for example you would struggle. It does not detail things like cording and flossing but the price is reasonable and you really can't go far wrong with this as a starter providing your dressmaking skills are reasonable.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2006
This is not a book! it's actually a dozen pages stapled together and folded over. contains designs for 2 19th century corsets, one lined one unlined, one elizabethan strapped corset, one half-corset, chemise and drawers.
It's a useful book, but be warned, it's tiny! just fits my hand.
Good detail and easy to follow instructions, if a bit cramped.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2010
This was my first book on corset construction, bought when I was 16. It's a great starter in construction and a good aid to help you start to think about the shapes involved in creating good foundation wear.

Actually, I still refer to it every now and then. And it's been a good 11 years since I bought it...
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2010
I read someone's review saying that this book is just a stapled pamphlet and they were right! But its nicely set out. Word of warning, this is not for beginners. You must have a working knowledge of garment construction and be able to use your initiative occassionally but its very easy to follow and the diagrams are very good.

It does show you how to draft the pattern pieces in diagram form rather than just illustrating how to construct them from a bought pattern. I think this book is a bargain but you won't find any information on history of corsetry. Highly recommend!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2012
sweet little item, lovely. many thanks. AAA111+++
sweet little item, lovely. many thanks. AAA111+++
sweet little item, lovely. many thanks. AAA111+++
sweet little item, lovely. many thanks. AAA111+++
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2012
Amazed at how small this book was when it arrived - in fact I was disappointed until I began to look through it. It is the size of a small pocket diary, so be warned have your glasses handy!

For all that, this book is jammed packed with great and useable info, ink drawn pictures, some flat working sketches, and lots of period detail info.

To translate this into an actual working pattern would require some pattern drafting experience and sewing dexterity, yet it is doable, and fantastically interesting historically. A good all-round handy guide, and although much smaller than I would like, it contains everything I needed to know.

I am a costume design student at uni, a qualified textile designer and have been sewing for over 20years. There is always more to learn, and this book proved that to me! I wouldn't recommend it to the novice corset maker, unless it was given as an inspirational gift :-)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2011
The price of this book is no were close to what it is worth. The book is very small and looks like a mini pocketbooklet. Id add money to this price and buy something that is actually worth a while. It has few pages and hand drawn images of some corsets. I do not really recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)