Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

While Medical Aromatherapy sets out a much needed philosophy for aromatherapy which combines chemistry and the vitalist tradition - energy medicine and how energy infuses matter, Advanced Aromatherapy gets much more specific and looks at the essential oils, specific essential oils, from the point of view of their chemistry, and looks at how that affects activity.
He's very precise, very clear, very scientific, highly readable.
He outlines protocols for the 'dreaded' internal prescription, and whilst in this country none of the specialist aromatherapy professional associations will touch public liability insurance cover for internal prescription of EO's (as they reckon, rightly, that a more thorough and specific training is needed for internal prescription than we currently have available) - at least Schnaubelt gives some clear, confident guidelines for the practitioner to SELF administer internally.
I'm sure eventually some more detailed advanced courses will move towards providing some sort of training for practitioners to prescribe 'the French way', and that when the level of training for that is properly and intensively focussed, public liability cover, via the professional associations, will become available - in the meantime, Schnaubelt gives some clear and calm pointers
He also covers some rare essential oils which are unlikely to be taught by most schools, so this book is an excellent resource for the practitioner wishing to 'extend'
Kurt Schnaubelt is someone who is definitely taking aromatherapy forward, and this is a splendid and practical textbook!
0Comment| 75 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 1999
For anyone trying to use essential oils to heal themselves and take their health back into their own hands, this book has a great deal of information to help. It describes each essential oil, its properties, what it's good for and any things you should look out for when using a particular oil. This book also tells how to apply the oils on the skin, how to take them internally both orally and by suppository (which is the way in France) and why essential oils are so powerful as healers. I have six different aromatherapy books in my library and I refer to this one most often. It's well-written and Dr. Schnaubelt's philosophy is a down-to-earth explanation of a complex subject. This is a "must have" for anyone interested in aromatherapy and the use of essential oils.
0Comment| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2014
Kurt Schnaubelt certainly knows his subject but unlike some authors he has the superb ability to convey his technical subject in a manner understanable by readers lacking real knowledge of the issues at hand.

This is the second book I have read by KS both are outstanding.

Any one who wants to learn about the real science and application of Aromatherapy MUST read KS's books.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2014
This book has fabulous images and invaluable information for those who have an interest on Essential oils in supporting healing. I would recommend this book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 3 November 2016
Years ago, when I started out exploring the benefits of essential oil usage - (mainly for fragrancing back then), I bought the simpler, easy books which gave a brief history of 'aromatherapy' and how EOs are produced, and some recipes for fragrancing, skin preparations, cleaning etc.
But it was all very naive and simple, a lot of anecdotal 'evidence' sometimes with a good dollop of astrology and other superstition thrown into the mix.
That was all very well in its way, but where was the evidence? Where was the Science? Interesting as anecdotal evidence is, it ain't evidence.

These books didn't answer my questions, because I was dying to know about the molecular structure of esters, aldehydes, terpines, sesquiterpines, ketones and all the other phytotherapeutics in botanicals and EOs - How did they work? How did they absorb and circulate in body tissues? Where was the evidence of clinical trial and evidenced research?

This book gave me a lot of the answers, and if you're ready for the 'next step up' in your knowledge of EOs, Hydrolats and use of botanicals in complementary therapies, this will be just what you're looking for.
There's a lot of science in here, but the great thing is that its not written specifically for academics. It's written in simple language, so that non-academics like me can follow and understand.
It's not a boring book - it drew me right in, and has taught me a lot.
Well illustrated to make harder to grasp concepts clearer, but without being patronising.

I have some quite advanced books on botanic medicine, which I struggled with a bit. This one bridged the gap between the simpler 'primers' and the heavy stuff, so I felt better equipped to go back to them with a better understanding, and for that, I'm really grateful for having found this book.

It could do with a little more clinical referencing to evidence based research - but if after you read this, you go on to read Shirley & Len Prices 'Aromatherapy for Health Professionals' you'll be able to be on much more familiar terms not just with aromatherapy, but botanical medicine in general.
Fascinating stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2015
Bought this as part of my degree. Good book but too advanced for layman.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2016
As a natural health paractitioner, I constantly seek more information for my knowledge base and this book delivers excellent and precise nformation from a Master of this discipline. I highly recommend it due to its clarity of information, content and layout. MIranda Sutton-Wood, Radiant Health-ness.com
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2016
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2010
Lacks evidence and reference to much of he information provided in the book. I'd strongly suggest that prospective purchasers review this carefully prior to purchase.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)