Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
21

on 24 January 2014
Useful resource, beautifully illustrated and presented. I was a little disappointed that so many of the examples were from Russia, and so few from Greece.
I am still searching for a book describing all the saints of the Greek Orthodox Church!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 November 2013
The book came as brand new, untouched. the images and the colours are very good and I love that is so practical for consulting meanings on imagery, the saints, their characteristics, the symbols, the themes in Byzantine Art and a short explanation of what is happening in an image. Books that have full story, a History book, have much more information, usually it's more generalized and after reading it you don't really know how to locate what you just learned in an object when seeing it live. Tis type of book is shorter but more precise and clear, it goes straight to the subject. I'm very happy with it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2017
We regularly holiday in Greece and love visiting the churches there. The paintings particularly the icons have always facinated us and I'm hoping this will help us identify who is represented .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2017
very pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 July 2012
It is a smallish book and the reproductions of icons are even smaller, but there are hundreds of them and it looks like all the major details of each icon are explained. Highly recommended for all amateur enthusiasts of icons.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2012
I bougth this book, hoping it will have a lot on my specific field of interest, but it is not fit for art history students, more for enthusiasts.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 November 2017
As described.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 August 2011
A brilliant book. Lots of detail of major, and some minor icons. Fascinating information and beautifully illustrated. Wonderful value considering the the quality of the illustrations. Perfectly understandable (technical terms fully explained), even by someone like myself who had little more than a passing interest in the subject.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 June 2011
This is a lovely book, illustrated with quite beautiful reproductions of icons. It is just what I have been looking for, with clear explanations and comprehensive coverage. If you want to know about icons, this is as good a starting point as any I have come across. Buy and enjoy!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2013
Completeley as advertised. I have no complaints whatsoever.
I you are interested in this subject, this is one for you.
Couldn't be more satisfied
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)