Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 14 August 2017
Geared to USA market. Gave some info on the destinations you would travel to from the port rather than information pertaining to the port your ship would arrive at.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2010
Very wide ranging. The information on each port is concise but very useful.

I've just used it for several Baltic ports. The best tip was that at St Petersburg it is possible to go ashore without a visa if you have prebooked a trip through an approved Russian agency. We did that online and came off much better than other passengers. The most disappointing feature was that for Warnemunde the whole entry is about Berlin. As we had been there before we wanted to explore Warnemunde and Rostock but there was nothing about them.

By itself this book is not really enough to arrange your own shore excursions but it provides a good starting point and with a little additional research you can have a good time in these ports.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
This book met my expectations but as usual with Fodors it is written from an American point of view so many hints and tips are not relevant for the European audience. Some good info and maps.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2014
We used this book on a Baltic cruise. While the descriptions of each port were adequate, the provided maps were not. In fairness to the author, it is difficult to forecast exactly where a particular cruise ship is going to moor. What you can do and how you get to the places that matter depend so much on how close you are to the town centre. Good quality maps alongside your cruise providers trips would be greatly helpful. Having said that, the book was useful to have along.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2015
Not enough depth, try to cover too much and does not give enough detail. Shame as I really like the Fodor publications otherwise.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
A very useful book covering most ports of call currently used by cruise lines. The cruise industry is expanding so fast that not allports are covered. We bought this book as a guidebook when cruising the Baltic. Two of the ports we visited, in Poland and Lithuania, were not included. The book gave comprehensive information about ports which were mentioned.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2014
Interesting read. Based on ports we have already visited was very fair. Could do with better maps of the ports but lots of useful tips. I think it was well worth buying. The tips concerning ports we have visited were very true.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2015
Will be very useful on my next cruise
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2014
Brilliant book, full of really useful tips. The venues were exactly as mentioned in the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
A usrful and concise guide but far too bulky for carrying around whilst on holiday
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)