Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 21 January 2015
This is the standard text for mortuary archaeology. Parker-Pearson has now moved to UCL and has become ever more prominent in the field. I suppose that this could do with some updating with spectacular recent finds but it still the best book of its kind currently available.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2012
another excellant book by M.P.P. well written, good slant on probability and possibility. with good evidence...(Whats next Neolithic cannibalism, or may be the use of drugs in the stone age .
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 April 2016
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2015
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 June 2017
A brilliant book for both academic students and laymen alike. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 November 2015
Facinating book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2018
Whilst discoveries have continued since its publication, this book remains a wonderful text. Its goes beyond archaeology to provide a history of attitudes to death and burial generally. There is so much here. To what extent does changing funerary ritual reveal social structure or changing religious beliefs?

Studies of body remains tells something about the deceased. Is tattooing a mark of high status or oppositional identity? As ever, it will depend on the context of the remains.

The dead do not bury themselves, funerary remains therefore mark the status as much of the mourners as the dead.

There is a universality of denial of death. Do grave goods indicate belief in the after-life or celebration of the deceased’s life?
Since the 18th century in the West death has been prettified, moving away from the realism of putrefaction and decay, with cemeteries sited in increasing marginal ex-urban localities. Cremation represents opposition to the euphemistic death. Cenotaphs are discussed, monuments to the dead without a body

Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 February 2011
You can't find a better expert on human death and burial than Prof Mike Parker Pearson in Britain. And if this is a topic you are researching then look no further. Because everything you need is right in Pearson's comprehensive study of human death and burial in archaeology. I don't really have any criticism to offer, as I am not interested in finding points of criticism. I am a student, and my current interest is merely to start learning everything I can about what archaeologists have discovered and what they can say about those discoveries. And this book has been an immense resource in that study. I'm sure someday there will be another revised edition, because this is a massive area of study which appears to make new discoveries each year. Which is extremely exciting. At least, for me it is.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2011
I found this book really hard going, was more like Anthropology than Archaeology. Very deep ,not for the faint hearted
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)