Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 18 March 2016
The book follows the same pattern as the first one, i.e. the author introduces successful traders and describes the circumstances of the interview followed by the interview itself after which he summarizes the most interesting takeaways and draws his own conclusions.

Many traders only reveal very generic information which you might have heard before. Examples are the importance of good money management, the development of a strategy in which you believe in etc. The book is not about teaching you certain strategies but it inspires you with regards to the right attitude which is necessary for profitable trading and this is great. It is more about reading between the lines than the actual answers to the questions. One of the answers which I remember best is that if you care too much about money, it would work against you, i.e. if you have a tendency to be very emotional about losses, you better stay away from the markets. Another observation which I remember well is that wanting to be right all the time is surely a hindrance in trading. This is why trading has nothing to do with intelligence in a traditional sense, because intelligent people who are indeed right most of the time would not accept easily to be wrong. Yet, in trading you should be prepared to happily accept to be on the wrong side of the trade, otherwise you won’t survive.

There are many more tips like the two examples above and this makes the book amazing despite the fact that the interviews were conducted more than 20 years ago. Two things all successful people have in common are hard work and dedication.
Similar to his first book, Schwager ends the book with a chapter about the psychology of trading. This time he chose to interview experts in the field of NLP (Neuro-Linguistic Programming).

Even though a bit outdated, I can still easily recommend this book to everyone with an interest to play the markets.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2012
This book like his other 2 books, delves into the nitty gritty of how and why super traders are successful at their craft. These traders view the world differently from us mere mortals, and are generally open to sharing in-depth aspects of their trading styles. Schwager is good at delving into the nuts and bolts of how and why they do what they do, always asking how the "novice trader" can benefit, utilize and make improvements in their own trading accounts. Never being content to just repeat verbatim what these super traders say, Scwager challenges them to elaborate and quantify why they choose one course of action over another.
Apart from being an interesting and easy read, Schwager also discusses the different psychological approaches to trading, such as how traders can incorporate aspects of Neuro Linguistic Training (NLP)into their trading, as well as discussing how the unconscious mind has more of an influence over our conscious mind, than we perhaps realize. Winning and losing at trading, is not always about making great trades, having the wrong mental approach or self-defeating attitude, will bankrupt you just as fast as timing the markets or your trades wrong.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2017
This gives some ideas and concepts which are useful to be aware of and it s certainly recommended to read but it want teach you the nuts and bolts of how to trade successfully
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2012
I read this book every year. It is packed with information about trading.

When I first read it years ago I was really disappointed, I was looking for strategies, people telling me to buy the move average, where to put your stops, and so on. I even tried to resell it on Amazon. About 3 years ago I was talking to a scalper and he mentioned one of the interviews, and I decided to dig it out and reread the chapter he was talking about.

I couldn't believe the new layers of information I could relate to.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
bought for druckenmiller. wasnt dissapointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2017
Excellent read ..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2017
Fascinating reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
a
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2017
Loving every minute 👍
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2016
This book is a fascinating insight into the markets and how the big players view them. The amount of information is vast and I suspect I will need to read this book two or three times to fully absorb it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse