Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 23 June 2013
Be advised: one star rating is not a reflection of true value of the book. On the contrary, I put it here just as a red light warning sending a signal: this book is written with B2B and B2B only environment in mind. There might be some analogies but very distant and even Moore at some point admits one should be cautious with extending the reasoning behind the book onto B2C markets. So if you are intending to read the book from the practical business point of view, and professionally you are dealing with mass market environment (mass processes, high volumes, low prices, dispersed distribution etc) consider other books. Having said that, it was an interesting read, probably one of the best to introduce a reader to Technology Adoption Curve concept in a concise way. So it's far away from waste of time, it's just a pity there is no analogy for B2C market.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2007
This is certainly one of the most insightful business books i have ever read. It is of biblical importance to anyone in the technology business, especially operating in a B2B scenario.

Apart from a cogent theoretical framework, it provides high practical, and actionable advice on how to move from one segment to the next in a technology adoption life cycle. It has certainly shown me the wrong assumptions we have made in our own business, and why.

The book helps consultants create a concrete service offering to start-up clients who need advice on their go-to-market and organizational strategy.

Full five stars on this book. I look forward to meeting Geoffrey Moore sometime to pay him my compliments for this great piece of work
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 November 2016
First learned of this when I started working in a team in the very early days of SDN and network virtualisation (a market now worth in excess of $1Bn). This was the book the founders of this company referred to constantly. Essential reading and relevant to anyone in a startup or emerging market.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 May 2015
I am wary of the use of bell curves, but this book works even without a perfect bell curve anyway. Essentially, following the advice in this book won't guarantee business success - but it will make some of the challenges much clearer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2013
It is a great book in some respects - particularly, the idea that many businesses fail after reaching early adopters because there is a huge chasm between selling to early adopters and mainstream. Beyond that the book is a bit boring and repetitive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 June 2012
A valuable guide for startups and companies planning to introduce new products. It explains why a product that works for the first customer doesn't work for the others. It also explains the importance of niche markets.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2015
great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 February 2015
Item exactly as described. Would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 January 2015
Excellent quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 February 2004
Moore has some very interesting takes ont the technology adoption cycle. It will probably explain a lot of difficulties experienced by hitech companies.
The only area is that even in the 2nd edition, a lot of the metaphors are out of date and even some of the companies used as examples
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse