Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 21 December 2008
This is the first book of a four part course by Jody Fisher & Alfred Publishing. I have to say there's not much else out there quite like this unless you go for one of the online suppliers like Ric Seversen's Guitar College books and CDs on Jazz.

This starts nice and easy and gently works you thorugh all the basics of playing jazz as a single line melody or chord melody solos. The books can be followed as chord studies or melody line studies depending on what your focus is, so they are pretty flexible. (You can even get a DVD for the first book).

If you want to learn jazz then I'd start with this book and suppliment it with some Jimmy Bruno material on scales Jimmy Bruno, No Nonsense Jazz Guitar and some Larry Coryell DVDs Larry Coryell's Jazz Guitar - Vol. 1,then your set. And it's done on a small budget as well. Joe Elliots book on improvisation fit nicelt with Jody's books. Introduction to Jazz Guitar Soloing: A Comprehensive Improvisation Method [With CD] (Introduction to Book & CD)
I'm a guitar teacher, so I'm telling you what I've learned about the books that are out there - work through these DVDs and books and you'll be fine.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2010
This books is part of a series penned by Jody Fisher. It follows a pattern that a lot of Guitar Methods & Tutor books like to follow in giving you a few easy chaptors before sending you to boot camp hell.

In this case the first few chapters deal with triad inversions, circle of fiths and major scale theory. After that it starts to rapidly up the ante with chapter after chapter on hundreds of chords and their various inversions. This encyclopedic approach means that only the very dedicated will get past the 3rd chapter unless they also have some other easier play along material to balance this book out.

My problem with this book is that it is most certainly not a method. Its a great collection of useable (and not so useable) chord shapes with some useful theory thrown in, but any novice or intermediate guitarist given this book as a gift by a loved one will soon give up Jazz Guitar saying its to dry and difficult.

Do buy if you need a system for putting together large 11th & 13th chords, or you already have a large collection of play alongs and are looking for some additional chord knowledge to spice up your practice.

Avoid if you are relatively new to Jazz Guitar or are an intermediate player looking for something Jazzy. Personally I find the Hal Leonard / Musicians Institue books much easier Try (Chord Tone Soloing: A Guitarist's Guide to Melodic Improvising in Any Style (Musicians Institute: Private Lessons) or Chord Melody Guitar (Musicians Institute: Private Lessons)
11 Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 13 September 2009
As another reviewer commented, there aren't many books out there like this which cover the basic fundamentals of jazz guitar. In meeting the criteria for a book which gently and carefully leads you into the area of jazz soloing, rhythm and improvisation, the book is absolutely wonderful. The themes of chords, harmony and improvisation are superbly structured.

At first, you are moved towards a series of beautiful and yet simple 'etudes' which can easily be returned to as the basis for improvisation. Scales, fingering, cyclic patterns etc are all covered in depth and with music being shown as both notation and tab, following the exercises is simple. Only occasionally are chord shapes shown above or with the music, so an understanding of those is essential, despite them usually being separately illustrated on 'dictionary style' pages throughout the book.

So why 4 stars and not 5?

I felt that many of the exercises and examples which lie between the etudes and practice pieces could have also been usefully illustrated on the CD. In terms of pages, you have to reach page 21 before you hear the first example being played. Prior to that there is a wealth of chord and scale work which deserved to be recorded because between pages 6 and 20 there is a HUGE amount of ground to be covered and there's a good chance that many less-experienced users may tend to skip those pages without first absorbing all the necessary 'ground work' which soon becomes essential for smooth progress.

That weakness aside, however, the book is a treasure and all the etudes and more complex pieces are wonderful examples of the jazz style.

Highly recommended.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 July 2011
I had a really general fundament as a guitar player thanks to Gibson learn Master guitar method. TThanks to thosebook of Jody Fisher i learned the basics for Jazz guitar on a very efficnetly way; he explains everything very logical and split up harmony and improvisation , t the end all come togehter; i will start now his second book "immediate" player and hop to have the jasz basics learned in no time , brand new world came open for me!!! Thanks best book serrie to learn jazz as a hobbyist!!! cheers Peter
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2012
Good, but needs videos as well. I am finding the theory part at the start a barrier to getting enthusiastic about the topic. Getting into the corners of the style first would really help me to stay with the routines and practice and theory and... Phew! I'm often feeling like giving up without a bit of encouragement. Listening to the pieces makes me feel inadequate, and I just think some encouraging video clips would thoroughly enhance the whole experience. Sound stuff though, otherwise.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2016
A fantastic comprehensive book on playing jazz guitar that's not for beginners. Players who are intermediate and upwards will find this very educational. Probably my favorite guitar text book at this level in any style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2015
Good book for a newcomer to Jazz guitar, like myself. Easy to understand and follow, with patience and practice, and has helped me enormously to understand both the technique, and structures, of Jazz guitar.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 January 2010
I bought this for my other half for Christmas (it was on his Christmas list), and he says it's fantastic. Sounds good to me too.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 August 2015
A good clear introduction with step by step theory. it's a little early to offer a complete overview but it seems like the perfect way to learn what can be a complex musical genre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2016
So far so good only getting into it now but it's definitely good for getting the basics under fingers , so would Defo recommend if you want to learn jazz from the roots .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)