Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 February 2009
Dont listen to Adz this is an Ace little book to help choose or identify Acer palmatums.Includes around 250 Palmatums. photos of most palmatums included, mainly foliage and tree pictures, No bark pics. Well laid out with a good introduction including choosing,planting,pests,diseases,pruning etc. Some very good pages on Japanese maple use,purpose,location etc.Very methodical information given on plant size,shape,habit,autumn colours, features etc.
Also includes usefull information and photos of the other Japanese Acer species like the circinatum, japonicum, shirasawanum, sieboldianum etc. Invaluable little book to take out maple shopping or when planning garden designs.300 cultivars, 330 Photos, Worth every penny.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2009
This little book is a superb guide to Acers. It is comprehensive, very well written for the amateur gardener and contains many useful photos. It is written by two people who are extremely kowledgeable and enthusiastic about Acers and covers many hundreds of different cultivars. Essential reading if you are interested in Acers and my constant companion on visits to nuseries.Highly recommended.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2010
I have the hardback version of Vertrees Acer must-have, but this is an essential up-date volume that you can tuck in your pocket for trips to nurserys, gardens etc. If you love Japanese Maples, like me, then you will not regret buying this.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2010
I brought this book as a birthday present 4 weeks ago, it has been read from cover to cover on more than one occasion and it is a brilliant guide to acers. The pictures are lovely and clear and I would definately recommend this book to others.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2009
this book details everything that you need to know to succesfully a grow or start a collection of japanese maple, it lists with very good pictures hundreds of cultivars, their growth habits, best features etc.
very impressed with this book!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2011
Good reference book to have when looking for stock.
Info is good, especially the full grown size of the cultivars.
Some pics are not sharp, but these were reproduced from earlier Vertrees books.
If only some of these beutiful cultivars, were easily available in the Netherlands
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
Excellent book all the info I needed on acers, there's that many.
Would say that this a book you do need for a Japanese garden
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
Excellent guide for having around in the car, allows me to identify types and just as importantly keep check on which trees I own.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
I love this book, it is really good and contains a lot more than I expected. An excellent reference book for Japanese maples.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2011
this was bought as a presant for a good friend and she loved it, has loads of tips and tells her all she needs to know
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)