Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Bicycling Cuba turned out to be invaluable during our three-week trip to the western part of Cuba. The authors really know what they are writing about. Some of the most interesting and rewarding routes suggested in the book were not on the best maps available. The authors way of describing the routes kilometer by kilometer was of great help because very often roads were unmarked. At the intersections we had no problems in choosing the right road. The book also contains a lot of other useful information, for example, on accomodation.
We warmly recommend Bicycling Cuba for independent cyclists planning a trip to Cuba.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2009
This book, written by cyclists, for cyclists, provides informative descriptions of routes and logistics for the independent cycle tourer.
If you plan to cycle tour in Cuba I would recommend this book
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
My partner and I rode 2 routes in the eastern provinces during December 2015, using this guide as a starting point. Bought the paperback a couple of years ago when we were thinking of going and the e-book just before we went. The routes were helpful in showing distances between towns but I felt the distances were quite long on some days due to the temperatures of over 30C experienced this year. Completely understandable why certain days were in excess of 100km due to the lack of accommodation available when Barbara and Wally visited these parts. Nowadays, there are several more Casas Particulares along the way and stopping before lunch time made days more enjoyable. Food and water are often as difficult to find as has been mentioned in the book and finding snacks and street food was as welcome as finding treasure.
This book might be approaching 14 years old and some may find it a little dated, importantly, most of what I've read is accurate enough to allow you to have an adventure of your own and make some new discoveries without having everything on the plate.
The book is clearly laid out and easy to follow.
For anyone thinking of cycling around Cuba, this really is the book to read and refer to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2009
Very nice text and useful advices for Cuba bicycling trips. A must for all cyclists wanting visit Cuba with their bicycles.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2015
Fantastic guidebook for anyone wishing to cycle tour in Cuba on your own. I went to Cuba last year for 2 weeks on my own, I'd never cycle toured before, but wanted to take my own bike and have a go. I hate guided groups so this guidebook was pretty much all I needed. Even though the book was written some time ago, all the info was pretty much up to date as very little (if anything) has changed.

Cuba is a very beautiful country to explore on bicycle, for now there is very little traffic outside of the cities, much of it is flat, the people are so warm & helpful and you can always find someone who will help you fix your bike (though you may need your own parts as it's hard for them to get new supplies). I can't wait to go back to see more. In two weeks I saw the western part of Cuba so there's still the whole eastern side for me to explore!
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
It was easy to follow since I had no idea of distance between towns it gives distance in Km. however many of the distances between the Smith's choice of towns is a little too long for many cyclists and perhaps more references could be added about smaller towns and villages on route. Overall it is one of the best books on Cuba that I have come across so far in preparation for a cycling holiday in Cuba.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
I am afraid Cuba has changed a lot in 10 yrs and the guide is now mostly outdated.
Here a few reasons why:
- the packing list essentials is now different because lots of things were not available in Cuba 10yrs ago.
- the directions includes landmarks
- shops for water , food etc have now moved , closed, re-opened somewhere else
- most roads have not been maintained and are horrible to ride and other ones are now nice.
Need an updated version soon!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
Very helpful book. It's now a bit dated (12 years old) but still generally relevant. You just cant be too dependent on the signs/landmarks etc still being where they mention they are.

Shame the book received was a printed copy and not an original - claimed to be a first edition but was clearly not.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Have spent the last couple of nights being inspired by this book and planning a cycle trip ... Can't wait, well worth a read if you are planning to cycle in Cuba, loads of great information, however the book might be a little out of date.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
This book is a life saver. It is not the most interesting read but it is the most essential read. Has excellent information on cities, towns, roads and byways. Don't even dream of travelling through Cuba on a bike without it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)