Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
11
4.3 out of 5 stars


on 2 December 2004
This book contains a large number of useful schematics and some excellent photographs of rare vintage amps; however, these are really the only reasons for buying this book. The summary of valve amp manufacturers is useful too. The rest of the book consists of advertorial for Groove Tubes products, and a number of "technical" articles, most (but not all) of which contain serious flaws. For example "filter capacitors are not in the audio path" and my favoraite piece of twaddle "valve shields confuse your electrons"!! The author of this gem even copied this almost verbatim from another article. This is not an authorative discourse on valve amps. Buy this for the pictures.
22 Comments| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2017
Nice coffee table book ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
I bought this as a present for my Dad who's played guitar for around 40 years. The book is hardback and includes loads of details and diagrams, as well as a CD with more info on it. My Dad loves it. He's looking at repairing a few guitar amps in his retirement and says this will help him immeasurably. I play guitar also and had a flick through - it is what it says on the tin really. It's very technical and detailed, more so than a history of amps or anything. For the price I'm very happy. And so is my Dad more importantly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2009
Aspen Pittman of Groove tube fame puts together a comprehensive book examining valve amps for guitar and bass, at same time being both a historical reference and technical resource. The first half of the book is split into a historical A to Z of the major guitar/bass valve amplifier manufuacturers and a technical section covering potential modifications and comprehensive valve data sheets.

The second half contains an A to Z of many amplifier circuit schematics from "Ampeg right through to Western Electric and a CD with a total of 600 schematics! Although the book at times turns into a Groove Tube sales brochure, you can forgive the author as the information contained is also quite useful.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2010
I've got the 3rd and fourth editions of this book plus this one, bought for me as a gift. This is in ring binder-type format, so is easy to have open on the bench. However many of the schematics are on a CD, which precludes the anoraky fun of browsing through the schematics in a book.(Yeah, sad, I know.) Each edition has some new features and articles, and this one features some Fender amp mods by Brinsley Schwartz. Worth getting for these alone, the guy knows a lot of useful stuff about amps, and writes in a very accessible way. Less about kinkless tetrodes, and more about what happens if you change this cap or that resisitor.
Aspen naturally gives his own Groove Tubes a good plug, (though I have never liked them,)and writes interestingly about some of his favourite amps.Probably the only off-net source for older schematics covering a wide range of makes and types.
Another bit of essential info kit.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2016
I have had Version 4.1 for many years and I constantly refer to it. There is not much new content in this later edition, but the format is much better, the typos have gone, and the presentation is more pleasing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
Excellent quality and content! Everything you need to know about valves and guitar amps in one book. Also the. hundreds of circuit diagrams in the book and on CD are an engineers dream.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
Absolutely excellent info book for us valve amp restoration characters 10/10 would recommend to many of my valve amp friends a1 I buy collect n restore vintage valve guitar amps ([...]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
The product is perfect but the packaging was a bit poor. The book has a little DING in a corner.
I did'nt wait to long.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2015
If you remember amps costing £1 per watt then you're as old as I am... a good bit of detailed nostalgia.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)