Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
12
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 October 2014
It is another great book by MLJ. His expounding of truth in Scriptures is extremely solid, straightforward, passionate and reverent! His teachings will edify both the new Christian and the student of theology. I simply love his presentation of the Bible and I highly recommend it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Brilliant book from the Doctor on the baptism and gifts of the Holy Ghost. Highly informative too, and greatly moving.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
Worth reading and hopefully you will find inner joy through this and inspiration in the Scriptures as I did. Wonderful.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2017
A very informative book that everyone should read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2010
Once in a lifetime comes a man truly gifted of God, who brings the genuine excitement of truth of the Holy Spirit to his writing and understanding. That man was Martin Lloyd Jones. A man of very high intellect and knowledge of the Bible, and the fallen nature of man! This book "Joy Unspeakable" is, without doubt, the finest book on the subject of the Baptism in the Holy Spirit, and clarity and sensitivity on speaking in "other tongues". I continually thanked God for giving this man such discernment and width of understanding on these sometimes controversial subjects, especially in these days when such gifts are so abused by the Charismatic and Pentecostal Churches. When Bibles are given out in these churches, this book should also be issued at the same time! As I read this book for the third time recently, "Joy Unspeakable" flooded my spirit in its continuity of enlightenment and understanding. As a Charismatic and a Welshman, I praised God for the corrective influence this book provided in abundance!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
A carefully reasoned step by step apologetic for the Baptism in the Holy Spirit as distinct from the New Birth, along with wise pastoral counsel about seeking this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2015
wonderful book & great service
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2015
A wonderful book on a wonderful subject
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2016
Good book, not really my cup of tea. If you are not into charismatic Christianity then this is not for you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2002
The Doctor clearly explains the work of the Holy Spirit in salvation, in ongoing sanctification and with regard to what the Church commonly calls 'the baptism of (or with) the Holy Spirit'. He argues that the B.O.T.H.S. is not something that automatically accompanies salvation, is definitely experiential, cannot be forced, but should be earnestly sought.
Considering that the book is a transcript of several sermons, it is surprisingly easy to read and the Doctor presents his argument one point at a time, with plenty of scriptural backup and discussion of opposing viewpoints. It's a small shame - to me at least - that he quotes the AV because it makes the book less easy to read, but that aside, it's an excellent book. Someone gave it to me years ago and I'm kicking myself for not having read it earlier! After this, I hope to read his companion book on the gifts of the Holy Spirit, which aren't really discussed in "Joy unspeakable" - the main thrust of this book is that the B.O.T.H.S. manifests itself in a deep assurance and love for the Lord, and is given for witness.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)