Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
26
4.6 out of 5 stars


on 27 August 2017
The Goetia still interesting after all these years. A classic Occult read."The Lesser Key of Solomon", don't think so At all!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2017
husband loves it thank you A*****
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2015
Interesting book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2014
This book excels where other attempts to render this book have failed. The sigils are particularly clear (something lacking on other editions produced by other publishing houses), the text clear and the useful commentary is lively. This edition is a must buy for anyone interested in such arcane and esoteric topics.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 1999
In Editor's foreword you hear some exciting stories about the Golden Dawn, S.L. Mathers, A. Crowley and other fraternities.
Through the entire book Mathers draws parallels to other books of this sort. It contains an initial interpretation of ceremonial magic. The main chapter is entitled "Shemhamphorash" and it contains desriptions of all 72 demons. Finally it has a chapter called "The magical requisites" which contains the hexagram of Solomon, the pentagram of Solomon, the magic ring/disc of Solomon, and the secret seal of Solomon. It also has Enochian conjurations and astrological tables of spirits in the Goetia.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2006
There are several versions of the Goetia, however this and perhaps Joseph H. Peterson's version are the main or at least the two top-selling versions. The previous reviewer clearly favours the Joseph H. Peterson version but I would exercise caution !
I own both versions (and two books by Joseph H. Peterson) - to me he does not appear to understand the material, merely diligently copy the oldest version he could find word for word with the odd footnote here and there. (His book of John Dee's writing is even worse, its in olde English with Latin appendices at the end - really helpful !). His pictures of the demonic signs look like something my 3 year old would draw !
Aleister Crowley & founder member of the Golden Dawn S. L McGregor Mathers were without a doubt the most famous and accomplished magicians of their day and they collaborated on this version of the Goetia, making the text more understandable, clearer, editing out a lot of the nonsense and 'red herrings' and redrawing the signs so they are clear and easy to copy and use. Whats more, this version has some very impressive (but not definitive) pictures of the demons themselves, including Crowley’s rather infantile sketches of them.
Judge for yourselves which version of the Goetia you would prefer !
Both (and more) copies of both books are available on various websites and I would urge anyone struggling to decide on which version to get to look there first. Joseph H. Peterson's version is there in its entirety and you'll see what I mean !!
11 Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2010
Will Open your mind to the celestial, very interesting book to have in your occult collection.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2005
The Lesser Key, and the goetica in particular is a very valuable magical text for the occult student or initiate alike. Other reviews outline the contents of the text well enough that I need not go into them.
This is a somewhat inferior edition however, with several notable flaws and innaccuracies. Seek out if you can, Joseph H. Peterson's "The Lesser Key of Solomon: Detailing the Ceremonial Art of Commanding Spirits Both Good and Evil" as it is a much more accurate and concise study of the text.
In it the flawed symbols of this edition are corrected shown alongside their flawed counterparts and the FULL text (parts I - V) of the Lemegeton Clavicula Salomonis is given.
The edition reviewed here will serve the interests of the merely curious, but I recommend Peterson's edition to the serious practical occultist.
11 Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 1998
If you're a serious practitioner, then you gotta get this book in your library. Plenty of details on the summoning of the solomonic demons, sigils, etc.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2014
I like this book with its illustrations which aid in rituals....theres a good bit of info in here for those with interest. I often now refer to this book for extra info perhaps not given by another book..when I want an illustration of a particular demon (not all are illustrated, but a good few are)- a good book to have in ones Magickal collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse