Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
14
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 February 1999
The Crowley Thoth Tarot deck included in this gift set is without doubt fascinating and beautiful. The plastic box of the gift set is very nice and the book is easy to read for beginners. However, the cards are simply put in the plastic box without a usual small paper box. This makes it very inconvenient when you want to carry your cards with you --- you have to carry the whole plastic box, which is very large! Also, in order to use the Thoth deck, the book by Ziegler included in this gift set is not enough at all. "The Crowley Tarot: The Handbook to the Cards" by Akron and Banzhaf has more detailed explanation of the cards.
22 comments| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2009
It's really important to understand that this book is one of a large movement centred around using the Tarot from a counselling/Jungian point of view, rather than as a magical/divination tool. The card definitions in the books are unrelentingly positive and based entirely on the querant's psychological state and perceptions.

Don't get me wrong -- it's good as a book of counselling tools, and it doesn't pretend at any point to be anything different to what it is. Most of the spreads are presented as techniques for guiding the patient through the session and the card definitions all have suggestions for what the counsellor and patient can do together as activities to develop on what they have seen in the cards.

If you want to use the Thoth Tarot for magical or proper divinatory purposes this book really won't be much use. Some of the definitions develop interestingly on the uniquely Crowleyan perspective presented by the deck, but in general it really blunts the card definitions down, limits them by applying them only to the inner psychological state and drowns them under bland syrupy homilies to stop people topping themselves when they draw The Tower.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2015
There are a number of books about the Thoth tarot, but I found this one really helpful and relatively easy to understand. Knowledge of the Qaballa is a must imo if one really wants to get to grips with this particular deck, but some books are SO detailed and confusing regarding the Qaballa it could be tempting to just 'give up'! However I think anyone who wants to really study the Thoth tarot this book would be a great book. It arrived quickly and was well packaged.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
This book offers a straightforward interpretation to the tarot which I found helpful. It isn't a huge book but what it does contain is practical and direct. I especially like the layout styles in the back.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 April 2007
I have two other sets of tarot cards, and have never been able to do a lot with them. These ones are totally different.

I was initially a bit reticent about getting these, mainly due to Crowley's reputation, but there's nothing threatening or malevolent about this deck. Visually stunning, the artwork is beautiful and intricate, which is the thing that attracted me to them in the first place.

However, once you hold them in your hands, they're a very powerful deck, and very easy to connect with.

The plastic video case type box is a bit cumbersome, but I keep my tarot cards in a cloth bag anyway, so that doesn't really matter.

The book contained in the set is certainly enough for a beginner, but I can appreciate that the separate handbook may be helpful once you're used to them.

An amazing and colourful set, and certainly not naive like a lot of tarot decks currently on the market.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2015
For me it's the best of all Tarots. I, my family and friends had it since the eighties in German. Now I gave the English version on request as a Christmas present to my son and his girlfriend. The cards are very spiritual and allow, like good art, several meanings for the person asking the questions. Moreover, the accompanying book is as well very spiritual and well written with the same intention to let the persons asking about their life or a problem find the right answer for themselves.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2015
Whilst being a very comprehensive look at tarot, this version is made simple for the everyday person to understand.
The positivity is like a river flowing.
Personally I find the confirmation of my intuition through the cards very comforting and strengthening.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2015
This is my favorite Tarot book of all time, and I have been readin tarot since 1990. Provides excellent and useful insight into all the cards and the journey of the tarot... and any other personal development journey you may be on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2011
For those new to the Thoth Tarot this is an excellent way to start as it is able to shed light on Crowleys own book which is deliberately aimed at more experienced practitioners. The author has kept his writing short and focused on the symbolism of the cards and their practical meaning rather than the deeper ideas behind them. It's a handy practical guide to doing readings so its great for daily use. Each entry has a short postcript offering questions and directions for each card. A very good general guide for the beginner.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2013
You need to buy this book if you purchase the Crowley tarot cards as the booklet that you get with the cards on their own isn't that detailed. This book gives you a far better understanding of the Crowley cards. Thanks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)