Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 September 2008
I have recently returned from a trip using both the Lonely Planet to the Middle East and a separate country guide to Jordan. This particular compilation is sparse on cultural, historical and practical information (it is no more than 150 pages longer than the entire single country guide to Egypt), generally out of date (in particular, regarding prices and budgeting) and often misguiding (for example, several maps are marked with street names that are completely incorrect). If you are looking for a guide book to help plan a trip to the Middle East then you would be better off considering a different series, investigating the single country guides or not taking one at all.
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2011
When Lonely Planet brought out 'South East Asia on a Shoestring' they really broke the mould and provided probably the best travel book ever written.
Then they put out 'China' and 'India' and both books were superb and I have really put them all to the test.

Then I plan my next trip and get 'Middle East' expecting the same high standards of text, graphics and information I was genuinely let down.
The book is lacking so much vital information - Particularly in regards to Border Crossings and anywhere off the beaten track that it renders itself useless.
Whilst this edition is aged a little I seriously hope they burn this and completely re write the next edition. It is that poor.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2010
Like the other reviewers have already commented the tittle of the book is partly misleading. It only covers a part of the Middle East (Turkey, Egypt and the Levant) and excludes for instance the Gulf countries. If you are also visiting just one of the countries, there are much better and more comprehensive guides. I bought the book to plan to which countries to visit and at what time of the year and it has been useful for that. It is done in traditional Lonely Planet style with a lot of data, especially for budget travelers, and not many pictures.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2012
Book is very out of date, and not really of much help other than giving a brief idea of what is available to visit in each country. Many hotels are no longer there, and prices are x2 to x4 fold what is stated in the book. There should be a new version of this guide out in the next few months so i would suggest to wait for that. All in all, its well written and informative, but if your visiting only one or two countries in the area then its best to stick to the book for that specific country.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2011
Recieved this book on time.

I have been using this book to plan my trip of the middle east. Very useful, informative and concise. I have not started my trip yet, but since reading this book i'm confident that my trip will be great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2010
A good book. The hotel recommendations were spot on - both the really cheap ones and the up market hotels. The guides for historical sites excellent. Some of the maps in Syria and Jordan were not great but even the locals say getting accurate maps there is very tough. I did not go to Israel or Turkey so no idea how good those bits of the book are.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
LP bang om as ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2014
Great guide
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2010
This book was purchased to assist in a forthcoming trip to Egypt, Jordan, and Israel. The information and suggestions are of the (high) standards I have become used to with Lonely Planet books, as ever this book will be right next to my passport throughout my journey to the Middle East.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2008
This title of this guide leads one to expect that would covers the entire Middle East region, but unfortunately it excludes the whole of the Arabian Peninsular, which unfortunately is the area to which I shall be travelling. That region has a seperate guide. I believe that this book should be more appropriately titled "Middle East excluding the Arabian Peninsular".
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)