Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now



on 11 July 2017
Absolutely riveting. What a tremendous read, as soon as you have read page one, you just can't put the storey down' until you have finished reading it. It is beautifully written, is both sad and very funny in places, but on the whole, can not be beaten.
I am a great fan of his shows, they are extremely hilarious, in every way, and this novel "Mammy" explains everything about the family.
For all who buy it, read and enjoy. Am sure you will.
Can't recommend it highly enough. Honest.
Am now going to read the next one in the series "Granny". Will write a review on it later
Have just seen the news on Mrs BrownsBoys website, that Rory Dowan has left the show after 26years. Shame, but wish him well for the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 August 2014
Don't come to this book thinking it will be like his TV show, with daft characters and raucous smutty humour, mind you there is a bit of that, come to think of it. This is about a childhood and a nostalgic look back on all that mothers have done to keep families together and helping their children grow up with some principles and a set of decent morals even in the most trying of circumstances.
It is affectionate, amusing and well told.
However, back to the raucous humour, I hate to have to relate (as it sounds a bit off) but I absolutely howled with laughter when he recounted how his mother's best friend died. Sorry.
Good yarn.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2017
What a joy to read, this short story has every bit of life in it from the joy of birth to the sorrow of death. It is scattered with wonderfull put downs that will make you laugh and want to remember so that you can use in your own lifetime. A great take on life and a close knit family ,
Warning. Do not try to read it if you have somthing to do as its very hard to put down once picked up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2015
I am a huge fan of Mrs Browns Boys but had never read any of Brendan O'Carrolls books. However I decided to change that after joining a reading challenge for 2015.

This book is such a funny read, yet very sentimental at the same time.
Having the characters in my head from seeing them in the TV series made some of them more real to me. But there are also many differences between the book and the characters they eventually became on screen.

I can honestly see some of the scenes on screen as I read them and I liked that.

A great book for fans of the TV series, or for those wanting a funny read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2017
An excellent read. I am a Mrs Browns fan but these really gave some history behind the character. Moving but hilarious story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2017
This book never disappoints , Brendan has the ability to lift you straight into the action.....I swear I could smell the fresh flower being sold on the market stall. If there was an option for 6 stars this book would have got 7! Read it an I promise it won't disappoint
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Brilliant book but am a little disappointed it doesn't carry on from the young wan, the mothers name has changed and her father is stil alive, i know the houng wan wan was written last but its a pity it couldn't be matched up with this, but all the same i loved this book and can't wait to read the next one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2017
A very funny book. Found myself chuckling away to myself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
Great book, great price, and very cheap at the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2017
You can totally see where Agnes Brown has come from. Fantastic. What a brilliant background for the show. You can see everyone
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse