Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 October 2011
I really enjoyed this refreshing angle of zen because it is hard to relate to other zen books as they seem written by squeaky clean people who have never lived in my world but Brad comes across as a regular person and applies zen to daily life. There are a couple of strange chapters where he veers off into unrelated territory especially his rant on zig-zag-zen, surely he should have saved his rant for a blog as it did not come across as very zen-like to condemn so bitterly. Overall very worth a read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2009
This book was recommended by a friend at my Zen sangha. When I heard a punk rocker had written a Zen book I was very intrigued. It seems so bizarre, like Evil Kinevel writing a safety manual, could the principles of Zen be applied to hardcore punk rock? Easily, yes. Brad Warner explains how to actually live with Zen, to make it a practical lived in, way of life. Most Zen books leave you more confused after reading them than when you started, and thus the good stuff that may be in them gets washed away with the confusion. Brad gives the ideas life and takes them off the pages and out of the theory. He shows how he applied them at various points in his life.
Many people will not like this book because they like to appear high minded and very "deep." If that is your outlook on Zen, that it should be impenetrable, then this will not be the book for you. This book takes Zen into our 21st century western lifestyle and for the laity not the zen priests or priestesses. I have met very senior Zen priests and nuns who highly recommend Brad. I loved the book, loved the whole character of it and have since read his 2 other books watched various youtube videos. His message resonated with me and actually made some of the more impenetrable stuff penetrable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2012
Hardcore Zen :Punk Rock Monster Movies& the Truth about Reality

Very accessible, down to earth presentation.A very particular sense of humour you may or maynot get along with, but doesn't distract from what it delivers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2009
I have had a background interest in Zen since early childhood, but never did anythign about it. As a Yoga teacher I always considered my mind too noisy for such a still practice as zazen. And trying to read more 'traditional' books on Zen only gave me further doubts. This book gives an insight into "Real Zen for Real People", and finally gave me the push I needed to join the nearest Zen group.

It is difficult, oh so difficult and Brad WaWarner says no different, in fact he goes to great lengths to highlight how difficult (and boring and lacking in thrills or easy gains) it is. But i have the feeling that I have found something worthwhile, thanks to him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2008
This book is ok. Just ok. The author obviously has a good understanding of the subject, and the half of the book that deals with this is very good. However the rest of the book is a let down, feeling more like a terribly written autobiography. i found the writing style very irritating, almost every paragraph ended with, "...and thats just the way it is, buddy.", or something similar. Towards the end the author even starts to rip into other authors who i have never even heard of. You just wish he would stick to the subject in hand. i brought this book as a result of the glowing references here, it just wasn't for me.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2009
I thoroughly enjoyed Warner's writing style - direct, funny, profane, challenging and a bit irreverent. I think his books will appeal to a whole generation of younger people who don't want to read the stuffy, esoteric Buddhist books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2011
i red 20-5 zen books and this is the best ive read so far. it explains zen in plain and simple terms. its a shame author didnt make much money off it as it is his best by far.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
Sometimes the existing hierarchy in Buddhist schools is misinterpreted by people who like the power game.
This book helps explain what is actually Zen for Westerners.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
I enjoyed the book. Its funny whilst putting across key ideas in a readable way with no frills. Great as an autobiography, less convincing as a treatise on Zen though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2016
An exceptionally well written book. No pretence, no posing, no bulls***. I thoroughly recommend it for anyone who has an interest in Buddhism.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)