Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 February 2017
Bought this to make up order to get free postage so was not too disappointed. This is more of a booklet and I would say it is suitable for someone who is a complete novice or for a child. It says you will have a "repertoire of songs" which include such songs as Baa Baa Black Sheep and God Save the Queen. This is a very basic book so don't expect too much.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2017
Good book, could have more Irish songs though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Good informative book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2012
Firstly, I found this book to get you off to a very quick start, teaching you tunes like Ba Ba Blacksheep and Frere Jacques, you can learn to play a tune in no time.

However, I dislike that the book really doesn't focus on the Irish style of playing that attracted me to the whistle in the first place. Not only are the songs in the book all out of recorder books, but the book also teaches you things which I've heard a lot of experienced players telling you never to do: like over-using tonguing, and taking breath at the end of a bar etc (which IS applicable to the songs in the book, but is definitely not a general rule).

By all means, buy this book to get you through the first 2 hours of playing (I don't regret buying it..), but you will probably find that you want to seek out other resources, especially if you wanted to learn more Celtic styles of music..
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2012
This book makes two claims on the cover -
1. This book assumes no previous knowledge of the penny whistle or of music - true.
2. Teaches you all you need to know to become an accomplished player - untrue.

I cannot find any mention of ornamentation in this book, without which you could never hope to call yourself an accomplished player. Also, the back cover claims you will have a delightful repertoire of songs. That's a matter of taste of course, but I expect to learn some Irish tunes in a tin whistle repertoire, and do not want to learn God Save the Queen, The drunken sailor, Bach's minuet in G, Plaisir d'amour or Yankee Doodle.

If you have no idea at all of how to read music, you might find this book useful. However, I'd recommend anyone to buy Instant Tin Whistle - Irish by Dave Mallinson instead.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2010
Helpful book,means you can play a tune very quickly on the whistle.
Great fun!!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2009
Had this a day, AND I CAN PLAY A TUNE! Not very well, but that's me not the book. And my hands ache ~ but that's me as well.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2010
It is a very good book for starters includes all the basics that someone may want to know, in order to start playing the tin whistle.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
Not worth the money.
33 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2011
This little and fairly cheap book is full of nice drawings that
show the fingering for simple and catchy traditional tunes
to play on your tin whistle.

It's good for beginners as you will be shown into the world of
tin whistle playing step by step. When you want to progress,
you will need to buy another book.

thanks!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)