Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
28
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
24
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 May 2003
As in Toon and Ainscough's book ,'Breaking Free',this very practical workbook devotes much attention to the questions 'why me?why did'nt I tell? did the abuser see something in me which told him that abuse was all I was good for?' and.....' now that I know rationally that I was not to blame , why do I still FEEL guilty?'
In twenty years working in mental health , often with survivors of abuse , I have found these specific questions to be the most destructive and persistent.In CBT and EMDR treatments ,they are the hardest and last to be resolved.
The exercises in this workbook are the most beneficial I have come across. Client feedback is very positive. Once again , hats off to these two authors and their survivors group.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2001
A practical up to date self-help book for survivors of child sexual abuse. It focuses on the findings of the therapists using real life writings of their clients different feelings and situations. This makes it very accessible to the lay person and professional alike. It offers survivors strategies for coping and obtaining support when embarking on breaking free from their past, which can be very upsetting and painful. It also helps anyone who wants to gain more understanding of the issues that face people who have been sexually abused and how to overcome them. An excellent resource book which should be found in every library and book store.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2011
Excellent book.....and easy and detailed reading, leading to an understanding of such who have gone through such circumstances and situations. A real insight into an issue which sadly has and is affecting many.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2011
this book is an absolute must read for those who either cousel or come into contact with survivors of child sexual abuse. It is also a must have and read book for survivors of child sexual abuse. I found it excellent, it gives such an insight and also helps to answer those unanswered questions that survivors may have
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2012
As a counsellor I have recommended this book to clients who are survivors of sexual abuse. It offers practical help in addressing the effects of childhood sexual abuse. If you're an adult survivor it might be helpful to work through this book alongside a qualified counsellor or psychotherapist (I would recommend that you see the BACP's website to find one, or speak to your GP).

"you can't alter the past, you can change the present and the future"
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
What an incredible help this was. Having been trapped for so many years within a world of irrational feelings and self hate, this book along with the help of a Christian therapist just takes you through all the rubbish and brings you out the other side free. I've recommended it to others and will continue to do so.
An excellent book for all you out there that's been through some horrific times as children.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
I did this book in therapy; it is very good and the clinical psychologist has been using this workbook for years. It has brilliant insight and helps survivors gain more understanding in to his/her behaviour/circumstances ie flash backs, addiction problems, distrust in others, low self-worth - the affects of abuse are many. The exercises are very well thought out. It is written by survivors of abuse who have excellent knowledge on the affects of abuse and the steps survivors can take to break free from the affects of their abuse. It is a hard read, but abuse it hard, if you are ready to deal with your abuse, buy it, or you want more insight into how abuse affects someone, buy it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
Highly recommended for anyone struggling with the after effects of this appalling act. The workbook is absolutely on the ball and helps immensely. You can complete the tasks again and again if you so wish so long as you complete in pencil. Would recommend to anyone who is struggling. It really does help!!!! I wish I had found it years ago.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
this book is a good read but some of methods work better when working a therapist or a councillor its a long road to recocery
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
I do think it is very helpful. But i did notice it does have a few swear words. Maybe it should say that on the write up. That's all.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)