Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 May 2017
All good yes. Arrived quickly as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2017
brilliant series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2017
The invasion of Britain in glorious detail. The Flavian brothers get further embroiled in Roman politics. Great story telling, throughly enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
Another excellent chapter in the story of a Roman country boy who makes good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
For the 4th of his Vespasian novels Robert Fabbri has put his hero back where he belongs, in the ranks of the legions, as Legate of the II Augusta. Unfortunately the seniority of such a position means he is still embroiled with Imperial politics commencing with the assasination of Caligula and ending with an attempt by new Emperor Claudius's freedmen to drive a rift between the Emperor and his wife Messalina.

Following his apointment Vespasian must help to preserve his brother Sabinus's life (he's implicated in the plot to kill Caligula) by recovering the last of the three Eagles lost in Germania in an earlier campaign. This story takes up about a third of the book and isn't strictly necessary except to set the scene for later events which themselves only form a small part of the story.

The hostorical detail relating to the invasion of Brittania is excellent, though it must be remembered that firstly this is a work of fiction and secondly that the Romans themselves didn't document the invasion very well. The aithor's note at the end makes it clear how little is actually known about this campaign. This actually helps Fabbri as he can take more peoetic licence in his stroy telling.

The only problem I have is that knowing Vespasian will one day become Emperor these novels of his earlier life are unable to place him in the sort of life or death situations one normally experiences with a fictional hero because we know he is still alive in 69 AD and this story starts in 41 AD. Oh well, its good swashbuckilg stuff and I look forward to book 5.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
Robert Fabbri has taken on quite a challenge with his series on the Emperor Vespasian. Mainly because very little is actually known about his life before he became Emperor. This, of course, allows him great scope to invent plots and events, but the danger with this is that they need to be believable. On the whole, the author succeeds. This volume goes from the assassination of Caligula, to the invasion of Britain by Claudius, and follows Vespasians role in these events. It is well written, and moves at a comfortable pace, blending what is known about Vespasian, what can safely be assumed, and adding the rest.
My only gripe is that yet again, Claudius is portrayed as a blundering, gibbering idiot. Whilst he must have had physical disabilities, I cannot believe that there was not a shrewd, sharp mind in that broken body, otherwise, even with others supposedly keeping him safe, I think he would not have survived long enough to be Emperor, nor survived very long when he assumed the purple. This very negative portrayal seems to be the accepted one in Roman fiction at the moment, and I am beginning to find it a little annoying!
Overall though, this is a fine addition to the series, and I look forward the reading the next instalment.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
This series of books continues to keep the reader on the edge of their seat. I try to read them slowly so I am not left longing for the next instalment but get so caught up in the story that I end up speeding through! When will the tide turn for our gallant hero and the next chapter in Rome's fortunes begin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2014
A very detailed and fascinating account of the Roman Empire during the reign of Claudius and the invasion of Britain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
These books are starting to get confusing Vespasian is caught up far too much in Roman politics and subjects the reader to a lot of why's and wherfores of the emperor it all gets too complicated and you find yourself reading mindlessly just to get to the end of the book I,m not sure if l,ll read the next one in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 2 October 2013
For those that have not heard of them, there is a group called the HWA "Historical Writers Association" . It is made up of many of the finest writers in the Historical Fiction genre. Robert Fabbri is one of these splendid authors.

For the last 12 months I have been convinced that this group of authors is having an impact on its self, a positive impact. I don't think its an overt impact, I just think that personalities, the discussions, the exchange of thoughts and ideas is impacting the styles, the depth, the quality and the final product. To the point that 2013 has led to some of the finest books ever released in the genre.

Robert Fabbri's Vespasian 4 Rome's Fallen Eagle is for me an example of that, easily the finest book in the series, a book that has taken another step up in quality of action, imagery, pace, prose and plotting. I was left mesmerised for hours at a time reading this book, I grimaced in pain, laughed out loud and cheered on Vespasian and his brother Sabinus with every page.

From the forests of Teutoberg and a story that should have screamed implausible, but had me on the edge of my seat, to the seat of imperial power and Narcissus, to the battle fields of Britain. This book packs in so much story line, and yet covers everything in such great depth and power i'm amazed the book isn't over 1000 pages long, it seemed to go on for ever and yet finished far too quickly.

This is truly one of the best novels you will read this year, and for fans of Simon Scarrow: the ending left me feeling I had been dropped at the start of Under the Eagle, I wonder how many people will be pulling out their copies for a re-read after finishing this book.

Very highly recommended, and i'm so looking forward to book 5

(Parm)

Vespasian
1. Tribune of Rome (2011)
2. Rome's Executioner (2012)
3. False God of Rome (2013)
4. Rome's Fallen Eagle (2013)
The Crossroads Brotherhood (2011)
The Racing Factions (2013
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse