Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
19
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 September 2013
Since I already own and have cooked a vast number of the recipes from Maria Elia's previous cookbooks, I pre-ordered "Smashing Plates" and when it arrived, I sat down with a packet of adhesive page markers so that I could mark the recipes that I would be most interested in cooking first. After the first 20-30 pages, I realised how pointless this was - every recipe begs to be cooked and tasted. The Rhubarb, Rose and Almond bircher muesli was every bit as fabulous as the recipe suggested, although definitely meeting the "Greek Flavours Redefined" description in the book's title. The Beetroot, Apple and Feta Curd Salad was well worth the advance prep and dinner guests raved about it! A lazy Friday evening supper of Roast Spatchcock Chicken with potatoes, lemon, wild greens and capers sang a whole range of flavour notes and this dish was slow and easy to prepare. The Peachy Greek Panzanella is typical Elia, bringing a new, joyous note to a classic Mediterranean dish and her suggestions on how to vary each recipe are inspiring. While a few of the ingredients mentioned may not be readily available, Elia always suggests an alternative and this makes the book all the more useful and accessible. I cook a lot for my friends and without doubt, the dishes that draw the most praise and requests for the recipes are those from Maria Elia's books. Her ability to explore and contrast textures, temperatures and flavours is pretty unique and I suggest that you immediately beg, borrow or buy this book and try it for yourself! Enjoy!
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2015
This is an excellent and modern take on Greek/Cypriot cooking. Recipes are innovative – not in terms of technique, but in terms of interesting twists to well-known and not so well-known dishes – and not difficult to execute. I've tried a fair few of the recipes – for example, spatchcock chicken, gigantes plaki, octopus with cherry tomatoes; fava; tzatziki with fennel; honey and cinnamon frozen yogurt; ouzo sorbet – and they've all been very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
This is a wonderful, wonderful book, Elia's best to date. And it does exactly what it says it does - redefines Greek flavours. Tomato baklava is genius; Greek coffee on a plate (a mixture of coffee flavoured desserts which all come together in a whole) is modern but not overwrought. The dishes are not 'cheffy', the approach is just considered. Smashing Plates is my top cookbook of the autumn so far.
My copy is covered in post it notes.
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
nice recipes, clear instructions. Easy to follow. I would buy this again to give to a foodie friend or relative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
More than what I expected. Beautifully presented and food which is amazingly creative. The Cyprus element is what I especially liked.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
Throw away your old cookbooks; Maria Elia has re-defined the taste of Greek food. Smashing Plates covers the traditional Greek and Cypriot favourites and alongside Gigantes Plaki (Big Beans in Tomato Sauce) and Stifado (braised beef stew) Maria gives a `twist' to the classics with Lamb, Orange and Chilli kebabs, simple and mouth-wateringly tasty. For those who want to go deeper into the cuisine there is a detailed section on dealing with your octopus and making Halloumi cheese. This book should be in all Grecophiles kitchen.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2015
Great for vegetarians it was a gift they loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
Fresh, beautiful and delicious just about covers it. There's not a culinary window into the Greek kitchen that compares, at least not in English.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2016
Very disappointing. I bought this based on a podcast that I heard which was really interesting and exciting. However, upon delivery of the book....it is full of disappointment and not pure Greek. An example of some receipes: Pickled pigeon... pickled chicken...cured duck...rabbit rillettes....linguine....gnocchi... paella...duck shepherds pie, Cyprus potato chips (chips using Cyprus potatoes).

Nice photgraphs and nice receipes but, don't expect a truly Greek cookbook.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2015
Its okay.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)