Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
40
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 May 2017
An other great millar comic! He's by far my favourite writer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2017
Nemesis, for me, was a total breath of fresh air. It was totally not what I expected and completely unlike most of the comics/graphic novels I have read. I will admit to thinking, at first, that it was just a Batman rip-off. To be fair, Nemesis pretty much looks like someone whitewashed Batman, so I will let myself off. In actual fact, it’s a comic revolving around the world’s greatest, most brutally violent super villain!

I don’t just mean your average violence in a comic. It’s got some seriously creative brutality and killings. And the artwork does that creativeness real justice when it comes to all the blood and gore and downright savagery. Just how it made it to the YA section of my local library I will never know!

As the product description states, it’s a story about a super villain who spends his days targeting Asian police chiefs. his calling card (quite literally a card) is a simple white card with a sentence or two on it. That sentence: the exact time, place and way you will die. Washington’s greatest police chief finds himself the recipient of one such card. Thus begins an epic game of cat and mouse between the greatest mind of law and order and the most devious mind of villainy.

Nemesis, from start to finish, is flat out over the top. But it’s over the top to such an extent that it makes the whole thing hard to put down and just simply absorbing. Constant twists and turns in the character back stories makes it hard to know just who you should be rooting for. I still don’t know who I wanted to win and I have gotten to the end to find out who does!

I’ll also say that it reads like the kind of comic Michael Bay would have written. Lots of explosions, action scenes and massively expensive property damage! In fact, if it became a film one day, I could imagine his over the top director-skills being ideal for this over the top work. Quite simply, it reads like an action movie would read if transported from screen to page.

My only negative is that it feels short. Other than that, I loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2017
I really enjoyed this comic, it's fast paced, full of over-the-top action set pieces. However, it is too short in my opinion. I think there could have been more to the story. That being said, if it's action your after, then this comic book certainly delivers on that promise. The cover doesn't lie. It's what it truly is on the inside. When I first opened this comic, I wasn't expecting the main character to be a villain, but that was interesting. Also, if you like Deadpool, I think you'll like this. In Wanted's vein, this comic is overloaded with extreme violence, it doesn't hold back there, although the story could be better. Overall, it's a fun comic book, which I would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2014
A criminal mastermind and brilliant cop go head to head in an ultraviolent spectacular.

What an exciting little book. It is like the comic equivalent of a music video. It looks pretty for a short space of time and will leave you humming after the music stops. There is no message, no deep thought, no real character development even. But it is bloody entertaining. Your higher brain shuts down and everything but your eyeballs and page turning fingers goes to sleep as those two parts go into overdrive. It is completely over the top in terms of violence, colour, black humour and twist upon twist.

The art is fabulous with most panels being page wide and plenty of full page panels too. Whilst there is lots of dialogue it never descends into repetitive talking heads. This has such a wonderfully visual feel and is tingling with action. The fact the villain looks like Batman but in a pure white costume is a really inspired choice.

A broad grin and a Thumbs Up!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4-stars
This volume collects the four-part self-published(?) mini-series from 2010, staring Nemesis, the anti-Batman, a billionaire criminal mastermind who devotes himself to hunting down the world's greatest lawmen and executing cunning plans which have taken everything in to account, down to the minutest degree and spread across decades of years. Obviously, Chaos Theory hasn't been discovered in this universe.

We meet our anti-hero in Japan, where he is finishing off his latest campaign of terror, using a bullet train to kill the chief of police, and bringing a building full of police down on top for good measure. We then meet his next target, the chief of police in Washington DC, Blake Morrow, who's date and time of death Nemesis has just announced, shortly before he kidnaps the President. We then get a flashback to the young Morrow arresting nemesis's parents, the head of a rich-people's crime ring, given as the reason for Nemesis taking to a life of crime. After a few cat and mouse games, lifting a lot of Batman's old plots and new film-related hardware, as well as a lot of Millar's own creative mayhem, we get a showdown in the White House, and a final reveal of even deeper machinations going on deep in the background.

If you like lots of widescreen violence and epithet-laden dialogue, with deep-laid plots and conspiracies, and outrageous acts of terrorism on an unprecedented scale, then this is for you. If you are a bit more picky about your comics, you might still enjoy this, though by the end you might be wondering just how it all really worked.

THE SPOILER ZONE

Issue #1 introduces us to Nemesis, as he executes the Chief of Police of Tokyo, using a bullet train, and demolishing a building containing the SWAT team trying to rescue his hostage, to create the maximum carnage. We then meet his next target, Blake Morrow, the Chief of Police in Washington DC, who we meet doing a Clint Eastwood on a five-man criminal gang robbing a store. Afterwards, he is informed that he is the next target for Nemesis, so he goes into planning mode, just as Nemesis hijacks Airforce One, crash-lands it in a city centre and kidnaps the President, announcing that he's back for revenge for what happened to his family 20 years before.

Issue #2 starts with a flashback to the young Blake Morrow arresting Nemesis's billionaire parents for serial murder. Young Matthew Anderson runs off to become a master criminal, and today he has his own Nemesis-Cave stocked with billionaires' toys, just like another cave we know. Nemesis launches a series of Riddler-like crimes, though with a Joker-level body-count, culminating in an attack on the Pentagon. Morrow lays a trap for Nemesis - though I don't understand why it worked - leading to a big shoot-out and more Batman-like toys being deployed, before nemesis is finally captured.

Issue #3 sees Nemesis escaping from prison, along with two thousand inmates, who find two thousand identical getaway cars parked outside. Apparently his plan was to get captured to lure out Morrow's family from protective custody, and he kidnaps the Morrow children, releasing them in exchange for Morrow and his wife publicly revealing their deepest secrets. One secret he doesn't reveal is that he has had a mole in Nemesis's organisation...

Issue #4 sees Morrow leading his men into yet another ambush, as he is captured yet again, and Nemesis reveals his own mole, who gets his just reward, before Morrow is lead into the Oval Office, where his wife and the President are waiting, wearing bomb-vests and holding the triggers for each other's bombs, which they have been refusing to trigger. Morrow is given the choice which one to kill, before Nemesis kills them both. However, the President makes his own move, giving Morrow the chance to finally bring Nemesis down. Morrow subsequently dies on the operating table, before being resuscitated, thereby achieving Nemesis's target of dying at midnight...

Then comes the big reveal, that there is a hyper-villain behind the scenes, pandering to bored rich people by selling them the chance to become a super-villain, and who has planned these crimes over ten years previously.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
another great 1 just like Superior, Mph and Kick ass love the art love the story everything is great here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
Mark Millar is easily one of my favourite writers in comics - if not my all-time favourite. He is of course popular for works with Marvel such as the Ultimates, Wolverine and Civil War, but I have found myself more engrossed in his own original works, such as the Kick-Ass series - a story about a teenager so unsatisfied with his dull existence that he dons a wetsuit and in tradition with his beloved comic book characters, becomes a superhero - and Superior - a touching tale about a boy with multiple sclerosis who is given the chance to become his favourite superhero and make the world a better place, at a cost that would change his life.

In case I'm not making myself clear enough, I love Mark Millar. He's a writer who shows no shame in escaping from the mainstream and cliche, exploring new and innovative ideas, without any remorse for doing shocking things in his comics. But, like with all great writers, you can't be top-notch all the time. In Millar's case, this is something I have become accustomed to. Ultimates 2 was bad enough without it's pointless ending that had no relation to the plot and came completely out of left field, and Kick-Ass 2 had a particularly unnerving scene that was completely unnecessary and left a bad taste in the mouth.

Nemesis is by no means a bad comic, but certainly not one that made me say 'wow'. The premise in an interesting one - an orphaned boy who inherited his family's vast fortune after the untimely demise of his parents, uses his wealth to don a cape and fight for a cause he believes in. Only, unlike Batman, he chooses to use his genius and wealth as a terrorist. The villain Nemesis is truly what a supervillain might be in real life. He has no morality, no guilt, no redeeming features at all. With a crack team of mercenaries at his side, he travels the world committing acts of terror against noble police chiefs simply because he is bored and wants to cause mayhem. Now, he sets his eyes on Washington DC's top cop, Blake Morrow.

Honestly, in this series, there is so much potential for greatness, but it is not fully utilised. In understand Millar occasionally likes to write stories that contain non-stop death and destruction in what is meant to be taken as dark humour, but I can't tell the difference between his comedic stuff and his lazy stuff. Apart from Steve McNiven's art, I can't say there's anything I really enjoyed about this book. Nemesis is a good villain, what with his mind being his most dangerous weapon of all, but he isn't given enough substance. In fact, not even the hero, Chief Morrow is given much substance apart from him being a good cop. We see Nemesis attacking his family and his reputation, but we barely have any scenes where someone isn't being shot or beaten up, or cars and planes aren't exploding. The series simply lives on big things happening without much time for character development.

And in the few instances where there are scenes that could give us insight into the characters, their lives and relationships, we are treated to yet another plot twist. If someone is revealed to be a villain all along, or they've been revealed to be cheating on their spouse, we haven't been given enough time with the character or learned enough about them to really care.

I will continue to love Millar's work, even when he sometimes slips up (for example, I am currently enjoying his new series Jupiter's Legacy, but getting very annoyed at the sheer dullness and stupidity of Kick-Ass 3). Nemesis is certainly a somewhat enjoyable read, but without much substance or appreciation for the material, like myself, it's a book that you'll be done with within an hour. It's good for building up your Millarworld collection, and a nice, somewhat obscure addition to your Graphic Novel collection, and alos good if occasionally you like to read something that is simply dumb and fun, but beyond that, I don't think it's much more than a load of guys killing each other spread over four issues. Give it a read and see for yourself, but don't raise your expectations too high.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Within the comic-book world there exist some great alternate universe stories which deviate from established canon to explore the "what if?" questions pondered by comic-book writers; examples include Captain American becoming president, and Mark Millar's own Superman: Red Son which sees Krypton's most famous son fighting for the Russians rather than being the all-American good guy. Here though, Millar doesn't play with an established franchise and instead creates his own world which will look familiar to fans of Batman. Chief Inspector Blake Morrow is reminiscent of Gotham's James Gordon - a man of fine moral fibre who finds his police-work often putting a strain on his domestic life, but he doesn't have a costumed hero he can call an ally. Imagine if rather than rescuing folk and fighting baddies, Batman preferred to kill people for his own pleasure, abusing his position to amuse himself and cause chaos - that's Nemesis.

This is without doubt a superb premise and one which any comic-book hero will find intriguing, it turns the usual concept of a hero story on its head and the charismatic guy in the suit is the one you want to see taken down rather than succeed against the odds. Although the idea is excellent however, it doesn't seem as well executed as it ought to be. Mark Millar has a real talent for managing to breathe an element of realism into his stories no matter how outrageous they become (Kick-Ass being a prime example) but Nemesis fails to convince and sometimes the evil plans are so elaborate and implausible that it takes you out of the story and it loses some of the drama.

The artwork in Nemesis is good but doesn't stand out, it feels fairly average and the main issue is with Nemesis himself who's all white costume looks a little bland at times - but it does at least emphasise the blood! There is plenty of action in the story and it looks dynamic on the page with car chases and frantic action feeling palpable.

In a nutshell: There's a blend of grittiness and excess in Superior, it occasionally feels like it's trying too hard to shock and I didn't really buy into it, it isn't a modern classic - but it's still very readable and if you accept that this is a completely over the top cat-and-mouse chase then it's easily enjoyed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2011
I would like to make a point before you read the review, I have not read this particular story in graphic novel form, I read it when it was serialized in the magazine CLint.

I first stumbled upon Nemesis when I was reading the latest issue of CLint(at the time), and I found the first part promising. I did a quick internet search afterwards, and found out about the series' tagline "What if Batman was the Joker" so I really began to become intrigued and hyped for the rest of the series. But as the series progressed it was just a trip downhill. The concept was great and Mark Millar is a great writer so I thought he'd handle it correctly. But, ultimately, he didn't and what I got was a shambled mess. Plot points aren't expanded on and characters seem bland. I will, however, say that the artwork is very nice and gives more of a feel of what the story is about than ... well, the story.

So to sum up, I was dissapointed, and that's very understandable. Mark Millar has wrote some of my favourite comic series', Kick Ass and American Jesus among them. But with this you just feel like he was only doing it for the money, he had the movie planned from the begining. But it's nice to know he hasn't carried on like this an his latest strip Suuperior is back on form. So if you want a good new Millar story, read Superior when it's trade release comes in March.

Summary
-Story fails to live up
-Stumbles on every point
+Artwork is pretty.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2011
Mark Millar teams up with his Civil War artist Steve McNiven for possibly the best book he's written so far. The book starts off at a blistering pace, throwing the reader straight into the action as Nemesis blasts a murderous path of vengeance across Asia before turning his attentions to Washington DC.

At every expectation in the story Millar draws the reader in only to pull the rug out and flip the situation on its head. I was hooked from the first page to the last as Millar throws in all the tropes of the superhero story and completely obliterate them. I won't go into them here but let you discover them for yourself because they're that good. Suffice it to say nobody out there is writing superhero books like this. Millar is a true original.

And Steve McNiven - is there another artist drawing superheroes at the top of his game like he is? Gorgeous artwork adorns every page, perfectly complimenting Millar's sharply written scenes. Quite simply the best in the business.

Do you like superhero stories but are bored with what most of DC and Marvel put out? Give this a go. It's a much needed adrenalin shot in the arm for a genre that's, frankly, become stagnant. Millar and McNiven together again, doing what they do best - amazing comics. A wonderful read and one of 2011's best so far.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)