Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 December 2012
I bought this book because it was drawn by Jim Lee, and the artwork is simply superb! I found the story line slightly predictable, as with most graphic novels, however it was still an amazing and engaging read, and furthermore features a huge range of popular characters.

I would definitely recommend this book to anyone looking for a graphic novel!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
Good comic for any DC fan, full of darkness and excellent concepts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
This is the greatest comic book ever written, Batman punches Superman in the face
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
Arrived in good nick, an enjoyable read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It's a great idea to release a penciled version of graphic novel once in a while.

Batman: Hush Unwrapped Deluxe is basically the same book as Batman: Hush with dialogue and all, except everything is in pencils. The only coloured bits are the sound effects and Batman's internal narration.

Reading the book in just pencils is quite a different experience. It's basically like looking at the final draft of the book before the go ahead for inking. If you're marveled by Jim Lee's art in the coloured edition, you'll be blown away by this edition - if you're a comic artist maybe your brain will explode with awe.

Every page is filled with detailed pencil work, deserving a slow peruse. The amazing pencil hatches and shading are everywhere, on the characters, the backgrounds. After reading the book, you'll probably get a new sense of appreciation for comic artists and the art of making comics. This book is definitely a collectors' edition for fans.

As for the story, the storytelling is good and well paced, there are some surprises as Batman tried to uncover who this Hush villain is. The characters are well defined and believable. The sequences with Catwoman are fantastic - I love how Catwoman and Batman interacts.

However, I've a problem with the ending. Even though the villain was revealed in the end, the motivation for going against Batman isn't, or is too weak for me to notice. Just because you're a bad guy and he's Batman means you've to go against him? So the story is great for me until the ending which I felt could be better.

Also check out Icons: The DC Comics & Wildstorm Art of Jim Lee if you can't get enough of the art.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
22 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2010
This is by far one the best graphic novels i have ever read! The storyline is so intriguing it keeps you wanting more and the art work is so vivid you can't take your eyes off it! I had read a few reviews on this book before i bought it and i must say, they did not lie when they said it is a must have! However the book itself is another question.

Batman is given one of his greatest challenges yet when he must figure out why some of his worst enemies are suddenly acting up and if so, how are their crimes connected? On top of that he must try and figure out who the mysterious character watching him is and what he has to do with all this. This is a great story with so many so many misdirections which have you wanting to know how the dark knight will react and whether or not he can beat this menace. This is a fantastic read and will
have you on the edge of your seat before you know it!

My only concern is the fact that the book has a slight problem keeping itself together. Sadly i did not heed the warning from one of the reviews about the quality of the binding holding the pages in. On my second or third read through i noticed that the pages began falling out, and i don't mean when i'm turning the page i mean when i'm holding the book they just started falling out! Now i managed to keep the book together using one of man kind's greatest inventions... the clip! However i strongly advise either buying the hardcover version of this book or finding a better quality paperback.

Aside from that little skirmish, this book is by far one of the greats which shows batman and his enemies at the top of their game.
A definite for everyone whether you're a novice to comics or a hardcore collector!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 December 2013
Ten years ago, a comic by the name of Batman: Legends hit the UK shelves. And to kicked off the first issue, they decided to reprint this particular story called `Hush'. It was a tale I'd heard of, and that fans & critics were apparently raving over. With astronomical sales figures supporting this year-long saga, Batman: Hush was a story I was most keen to check out, month-after-month.

Thinking back to that year (2003-2004 for UK readers), Batman: Hush was a journey I loved right from the get-go to its exciting, irreversible conclusion. Immediately, it had an enticing title, and immediately captured my attention through some of the greatest artwork I'd ever seen in my life (courtesy of the great Jim Lee). But what really cemented Hush as one of the all-time great Batman stories was its pacing, its premise and Jeph Loeb's writing, which is the perfect match for Lee's artwork.

Ten years on from all that, here I am purchasing the complete saga of Batman: Hush in graphic novel format, and why not? The tale still creates the same emotions inside me. The feeling of suspense, the anticipation of what happens next, the roles of all the heroes, villains & supporting cast, the gripping plot (and its twists & turns), Batman's inside narrative, all the surprises, action and insight into the Dark Knight's world make this masterpiece nothing short of an absolute treat to indulge in.

For those who are wondering what all the fuss is about, Batman: Hush was basically Jeph Loeb & Jim Lee's attempt to bring people back toward reading Batman again. And between them, they did just that in intricate, coherent and award-winning style. At the time of the story, Batman is at the top of his game, then an enigmatic & dangerous new criminal mastermind (who we know only as `Hush') comes along with a scheme to completely ruin Bruce Wayne's life - and the scheme includes virtually all of Batman's rogues gallery.

Who is Hush? Why has he targeted Batman? Will the Dark Knight finally be able to cement his long-love with Catwoman? What new revelations from Bruce Wayne's past will come back to haunt him? And what ramifications will this `game' create for Batman and his whole family?

All these questions and much more litter the pages of Hush from start-to-finish, driving the story with tremendous intrigue and captivating readers through a genuinely well-conceived plot with nothing wasted and everything/everyone having purpose. By the time, you've finished reading Hush, you'll come to realise once again what an amazing character Batman is, and garner much appreciation for all the faces/concepts that are in his world.

Whilst some may criticise the tale for being just a massive `love-letter' to Batman fans, Hush is much more than that. Yes, there's Joker, Superman and all the like in this saga, but (again) it's all delivered with great purpose. The accessibility of Hush makes the story perfect for both long-time fans and newcomers who are looking for the ideal introduction to Batman. It pays homage to everything that makes the character so appealing, yet also builds upon the Dark Knight's legacy, paving the way for future Batman epics.

Over ten years after its success, Batman: Hush remains essential for all fans (of both the Dark Knight and comics as a whole). You may call it nostalgia, but when such a story has an impact on you, you can't help but appreciate & recommend it. Especially when this edition comes with a special Interlude & additional pages (not printed in the original comics), concept art, biographies, alternate covers, plus a special foreword/afterword from creators Jeph Loeb & Jim Lee.

There's no other word to sum up Batman: Hush than `milestone'. It's a tremendous achievement with a legacy that will surely last for another ten years and more to come. An exceptional journey for fans to indulge in.
22 Comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2010
Hush is a great graphic novel created by both a brilliant writer and a brilliant artist. The artwork in Hush is to die for. On top of this the wonderful storyline will have you on tenterhooks the whole way through. A must-read for any Batman fan - a comic that makes use of all your favourite villains in clever and imaginative ways. Beautifully drawn and beautifully written. Can't recommend it enough!

As everyone else said though, it falls apart. I borrowed it off a friend the first time I read it. Then I bought it after this review. My copy fell apart first reading and I sent it back. Bit loath to buy another one in case the same thing happens.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2012
Batman Hush is written fantastically, but this version gives aspiring artists a look into what makes Jim Lee so good at what he does. He deserves great praise, and this does him justice. He was born to draw, as he brings such emotion with every piece. However, I should say that it isn't complete without the inking and colouring, so if you wanted to experience a perfect story, buy the full edition.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
This was a good book with a good plot which gets your brain working. It is also very complicated, and I find that it is ideal only if you know a lot about Batman, otherwise it is difficult to understand at first.
Otherwise, this is a great book with great illustrations!
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)