Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
30
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 January 2011
Most of the book sets the scene for the horrors that will occur, and does so quite well.
Some characters are given a rich back story and most characters have at least some depth.
Rather then a book where awful things happen for no reason you are placed into the mind of the characters where they're unusual actions are explained, at least to themselves.

I was genuinely spooked by the tale, which is written in a suspenceful way where the initial build-up was very satisfying.
There is some humour here also and the characters interactions seem very real, so genuine in fact that when the action does start you'll notice that you're looking forward to the next conversation.

This tale would not be as fast paced as the game, where you are immediately into the action.
This is more like the Dead Space comic, where things start normal and gradually get horrific

An enjoyable experience that really drew me in.

I would recommend.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2014
Good read but the world doesn't give the sort of impressions of the games (or terrible movie.) The author could also be a little more daring with his choice of words as it feels like it's aimed at a younger audience than it should be but il not be too fussy about that cause I enjoyed it regardless.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2011
Every fan of the Dead Space series (games, movies and comics) should read this paperback. It's very well adapted into the franchise universe and explains (in a very intelligent way I may say) the origins of the black marker and the genesis of the unitology church and Robert Altman.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
Top notch book. I can understand it being a little difficult to get into for some. It has quite a slow start. The story itself is excellent however, as is the quality of writing. Any fan of the series will love this contribution to the lore.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2016
I admit this book had a great ending, especially when it ended I didn't have to read anymore.
The overall story is "interesting" and I did genuinly want to know what happened, mainly because I was so invested in the games and the lore.
Unfortunately B.K.Evenson is an amateur, he makes long lists of a person's feature instead of letting information slip, he doesnt use show not tell and his writing simply takes you out of the books immersion and ruins the feeling. He doesn't spend time on anything and so the book feels like 414 pages of rushed content.
He also doesn't utilise emotions in the characters and everything that happens is simlpy shrugged off and becomes instantly pointless.

Only buy or read this book if you want to know the full story of Michael altman and a load of secondary characters that have no real need to be there.

Or better yet read a synopsis on Wikipedia, takes less time and wastes less of your life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
As a fan of the Dead Space franchise since the begging this book was great, I've often wondered what exactly Michael Atlman did, I knew he was the founder of The Church of Unitology but I never really bought the whole shrine scene in DS 2, it was too preachy (as churches often are!) But this is it, the is Altmans story, and it's one of the most engrossing books I've read in a long time! If you're a Dead Space fan already, read it. If you're a sci-fi fan, read it. Hell, if you like reading then read it, even if you don't you should probably just read it anyway, trust me, I could not put it down!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2014
The first 1/2 or 2/3's of this novel are as good as any main stream horror novel, with lots of plot intrigues, believable characters acting rationally in difficult circumstances and an underlying sense of dread developing as the pages begin to rack up. The last part of the story is weaker, as it's gets a bit 'gamey' and for a while it almost becomes a description of what the dead space gameplay involves and therefore quite tedious, but it's worth persevering to get the full picture of how it all began. I'd definitely recommend if you liked the games enough to read all of the text logs whilst playing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2012
I purchased this book simply because I am a fan of the Dead Space game series and the Dead Space animated films. As the description of the book explained it answered a lot of the questions that left you thinking about after the events of Dead Space: Extraction and the first Dead Space game. A very good and gripping read, guaranteed to keep you wanting to read on right through the book.

Fantastic read and brilliantly written. 9/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
i pretty much obsess over dead space and the books do not disappoint at all! Im not sure why but i though it would be an easier read... but with all the sci-fi terms it actually makes it difficult to get into on occasion, or maybe it just me being stupid.
Either way i highly recommend it to anyone who likes sci-fi and horror.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2011
I have only recently started to read this book but by god does it suck you in about the the findings of the markers and the founder of unitology micheal Altman and his humble beginnings as a mere scientist before the nightmares and the finding of the black Marker and the powers it contains
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£14.99

Need customer service? Click here