Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
67
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Having loved the original series by Jack Campbell, I really couldn't wait to see what would develop in this one as we return to the world of Black Jack Geary. As with the first, the space battles are brutal which when added to the authors descriptive prose really gives the reader an clear ring side seat for the combat, add to this some deft political manipulation, some clever twists and a good dollop and luck and the reader will more than enjoy this title.

Add to the mix a writing style and prose that readers will love, great lead players and a plot that really thrusts you into the centre of it all and the reader will be more than satisfied.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
Nothing really to add other than it is an amazing continuation of the saga - entirely pointless an impossible to follow if you haven't read the previous books but if you have then you already know what to expect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2011
Just when I thought the original series couldn't get better the sequel appears, this book seems to be the best so far, a true page turner. The only bad thing about how good it is is that waiting for next one will be hard. Exciting, new plot and twists and great saga around how the fallout of a century long war affects both the Alliance and Syndics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2012
Do not judge these books by their covers. Suckered into buying them by glowing reviews and the great artwork, I've learnt an expensive lesson. I did persevere with The Lost Fleet in the hope that the standard of writing would improve but, sadly, this author seems more concerned with churning out page after page of mind-numbing drivel than giving his readers a good read.

Considering the book is about a trapped fleet fighting its way through enemy space, it is amazingly low on the action itself and high on officers endlessly discussing the action. Oh, and those discussions, boy, they're so wooden the words should be carved into the page.

Allegedly the author was a senior naval officer. Yet the two series of Lost Fleet books are each built around major strategic blunders that this writer seems to regard as good ideas (failing to duplicate the enemy's key to faster than light travel before sending it deep into enemy space (The Lost Fleet) and dispatching the bulk of your fleet into completely unreconnoitred territory against unknown forces (Beyond the Frontier)). Just as well he left the service before he got command of a real fleet; our loss is the US Navy's gain.

I now follow the CUT & PASTE guidelines (see below) I came across in another review so, between gritted teeth, this book and series get Two Stars (but only just).

____________________________________________________________________

CUT & PASTE

Let's rid ourselves of the sock puppets and mass review churners.

Because recent events (see the RJ Ellroy sock puppet fiasco) have exposed why so many reviews are either glowing or damming, how about making sure that your own review carries the weight it deserves? Follow these four simple guidelines then pass them on:

1. Use your own name. That way a fake reviewer (and there will still be many of them) can be more easily exposed. Conversely, pay no heed to anonymous reviews.

2. FIVE STAR REVIEWS. Assume they fall into three categories: the uncritical (and therefore useless), sock puppets (cynical manipulators) or a book worthy of the Nobel Prize for Literature. If it is in the lattermost category, you will already know about it.

3. ONE STAR REVIEWS. Home to the really nasty sock puppets. Let's face it, if an author gets their book published and it is not riddled with grammatical and spelling errors, it is already worth more than one star.

4. In future, rate your reads by the following:

TWO STARS: Poor. Should be avoided.
THREE STARS: Average. Worth a read.
FOUR STARS: Good to excellent. You are pleased you purchased it.

PASS IT ON
____________________________________________________________________
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2012
Okay I'm happy! I was quite lucky really. I started reading the original Lost Fleet books in DEC-2011, so I jumped right into this one! I read it cover to cover in about three days, and that was my average read time for the other books as well. I loved all of this book, but agree with that other person about it getting better once they were in Enigma space. To anyone who hasn't read the other series you really should before you read this. Trust me you won't understant any of it, unless you do.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
Another hit from Jack. A new set of character that are more complex than the Lost Fleet lot.
This time it's about breakaway syndics attempting a new start.
If you can get over the simplistic America vs. Russian similarities then you'll enjoy another page turner.
Its not deep and meaningful but it is highly addictive.
Did you ever read Patrick Tilley's Amtrak Wars? and wanted more, then Lost Fleet and Lost Stars are for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2011
This book is the first in a new series and it shows. Big parts are used to set up for what I suppose will happen later on. There is some action but nearly the same amount has in the earlier books. And the books ending feels a lot like the beginning for the first series. Will I buy the next book? Yes. Will I rush out and buy it in hardback? No.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2012
I really liked the first series of these books. In descending order, the space battles were entertaining and very convincing (I'm an expert obviously :) ), the characters were reasonable and the whole military ethic a bit ho-hum in places (OK so I get that discipline and obeying orders are important, but as the series so amply illustrates, only if the person with the right skills is actually in command.)
So why can't I finish this? Perhaps because there is no sense of threat and we're back to the characters, about which I just can't get myself to care that much.
Perhaps I need to plough through this to get to the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2012
Picked up both books in the Beyond the Frontier series from a charity shop (since ordered from Amazon the first two books in the Lost Fleet). After reading various Peter F Hamilton books and the Wheel of Time series recently they made a refreshing change - light, easy to read, but with enough depth to keep you interested. Nothing fantastically revolutionary however the fleet logistics and combat are particularly intriguing. Well wrote and highly evident that it draws from the authors personnel experiences in the Navy.

Highly recommend. Shame no hardback editions are available as of yet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2015
From the first book to now, i cant seem to put them down. very well written! And just the right balance of political espionage and manoeuvring and war like action.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse