Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
18
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 August 2012
Chuck Wendig can seriously write a great metaphor - his language is stunning and original and I'm always re-reading lines to try and fathom the layers. This is definitely horror with a suitably violent and nasty serial killer hunting young girls, mutilating and murdering them. Miriam Black, with her visions of how people die tries to change the fates of the girls she meets by hunting down the killers. But is her gift, or curse, beginning to twist her mind into madness? It's hard to tell as Miriam is one crazy chick, but a brilliant character. There's kick-ass action scenes as well as psychological weirdness. Highly recommended, but don't read last thing at night ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
As with 'Blackbirds' (the first entry in the Miriam Black series of novels), 'Mockingbird' is a fantastically written book, filled to the brim with sharp, witty dialogue and instantly likable characters. And profanity. LOTS of profanity.
Prose is razor sharp, and Chuck's ability to make you hate and love characters is truly remarkable.
Aside from some sloppy editing, this book is a solid read with an intriguing tale.
Recommended for anyone who likes their fiction dark, their protagonists complicated, and their profanity in abundance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2015
I came to Chuck Wendig via his excellent writing advice books, and thought if he wrote fiction in the same irreverent, sweary tone that he writes his non-fiction that it would appeal to me. I wasn't disappointed. When you finish a book, you remember the characters more than the plot. Miriam Black is an excellent character, sassy, funny, brave, flawed, oh and with a supernatural talent to see how people die. This sequel to Blackbirds is an exciting read, and the Cormorant is on my extensive to read list now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
Mockingbird lingered in my reading queue but it was definitely worth waiting for. If you enjoyed Blackbirds do not hesitate to buy and read this book; Chuck has managed to keep Miriam fresh, neatly avoiding psychic abilities becoming a gimmicky and thus tropey mess of cheese, and has added a couple more layers of complexity to her world and her relationships. Miriam's story is still vibrant and violent, irreverent and ultimately satisfying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
I'll stick with my Mockingbird.

I loved Blackbirds and Mockingbird is even better.

Chuck is a fantastic writer. Once started, I couldn't wait to finish.

Buy without fear. A great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2012
"Power and wisdom are born of trauma." Mockingbird is the story of a young woman who is gifted, if one could say so, with a weird kind of power, a power that feels to her more of a curse than a blessing.

This is the story of Miriam Black, who's a psychic. When she touches somebody she can see how and when he or she is going to die. For quite some time now she's been living in a trailer park with her best friend and occasional lover, one-eyed Louis.

Miriam is a very unhappy woman. She tries hard to adapt in a life that really doesn't suit her. Being normal is not something she can make happen, not when she can sense things the way she does. "She wants to go home. If only she knew what that really meant."

Louis is trying to bring some balance in her life, make her realize that if she tries hard enough she can become happy, or at least, kind-of-happy, but she knows all too well that that's not true and she snaps at him: "You want me to be someone I'm not."

She's sick of her everyday life, so she decides to leave and "commit to her lack of commitment." She's not afraid of the life on the road, she's tough, she can handle any situation; she cannot listen to Louis and his down-to-earth logic and get stack in that place anymore.

The road though is long and the first car that stops to pick her up belongs to no one else but Louis himself. They travel together for awhile, they fight, she gets off the car and then they meet again. And it's exactly then that she's convinced to follow him to a boarding school to meet a teacher, who feels certain that she's going to die soon. The woman is willing to pay Miriam just to tell her if she's right.

However, when she gets there, things start to get really complicated, because she has a very bad feeling about the place. She may be "a poison pill," as she calls herself, but she doesn't like to see people die, especially young people. She's quite certain that there's at least a murderer loose on the premises and she's determined to find out who that is and save the victims' lives.

Of course that will not prove such an easy thing to do. She'll find obstacles rising in her way time and again, she'll have to fight her inner demons and the evil of men, and she'll even have to confront her own past in order to make sense of the things that bother her.

Hers will be a long and dangerous journey, but as she's, at some point, going to find out she's not alone in this. The teacher, whose worst fears, or rather hopes she confirmed, will be there to give her a hand and so will be Louis - always her friend, until the very end.

"The only way to divert death is to give it a life," we read. And Miriam is determined to do just that; to sacrifice the guilty in order to save the innocents. But, will she make it? And if she does, will that help her find some sort of peace within herself?

A great novel that combines the genres of urban fantasy and crime fiction and which gives the reader quite a few thrills with its twists and turns, as well as some rare moments of pure poetry and magic. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2015
Even better than the last one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here