Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
13
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 September 2017
Great introduction to lots of different styles of text.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2013
I am using this book as a resource for a 'Read Aloud' group with a Year 5 class and a Year 6 class.

I read the extracts/poems to them, stopping occasionally to discuss vocuabulary/inferred meaning etc.

The children then go away and write a short review of the piece and if they will take it further ie read the book in the original.

The two year groups are taken separately in break time (30 mins) and everyone seems to be enjoying the pieces - I run it as a voluntary club and most children have joined.

I would thoroughly recommend the book to parents and teachers to use as an introduction to a whole variety of different genres of writing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
Lovely book with lots of interesting and fun poems and prose but may be aimed a bit above your average child, think adults and teenagers might enjoy it more .
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2013
Wonderful collection of short stories, excerpts from longer ones and poetry. My daughter was held captive when I read her Neil Gaimans "Instructions" for the first time and now almost knows it by heart.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
Reading should be fun, if it's going to be done independently, for pleasure. My son doesn't like what I liked at his age. This is a splendid compendium of the very old and very new. I've found authors and poets I hadn't read before. I read him something that stunned him and caused him to ask for 'more like that' - so I bought the book. I found out about it through the Reader's Organisation who have used it to inspire children to read and learn.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
Presentation

Cover distinctive although not sure what is in the blob. Cover 3.0

Contents

Wonderful from a first flick though

Larger font than the adult version a bonus

We read on .... Alexander of Allrighters and Ywnwab!

June 2014 Eventually finished. Missed the comments after each piece as in the adult version. Some nice stories and poems but not quite as good as the adult version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2016
This volume would have so many uses in schools, youth groups (and even with adults). An inspired range of literature and poetry to use as a basis for discussing modern themes. I will use it constantly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2014
Good for shared reading sessions. Wide selection of material suitable for use with a wide age range if selected carefully. Have even used some of the material with older people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
My son been asking me for this book for ages so finely I've bought it and thank God I did , really love every word of it and my son reads the book everyday .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2013
I have used this book to read out loud to adults in a residential home.
The stories are appropriate for a range of ages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here