Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
63
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£12.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 April 2017
As you would expect from Mr P, great fun but the book is also quite informative. I wasn't necessarily expecting it and I've not checked everything in the book, however I recognize several 'items' as being historically correct. Possibly everything is! I just wanted to add the book to my TP library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
Nice companion to Dodger, really pleased that this came out as I kind of missed Dodger when I finished the book.
The usual quality illustrations litter an interesting little addition to the Dodger novel
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
Very interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
No problems with delivery. Very well packed, received in excellent condition, well on time. The book was every bit as good to read as I thought it would be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
it was as expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2017
There is very little that can be said about this book – it is not a novel, nor is it a story in its own right. As a companion piece to Pratchett’s ‘Dodger’ it is a reference book presenting facts and anecdotes about Victorian London along with pictures, both modern and contemporary.

As such it is interesting rather than entertaining, although it does have its moments.
I enjoyed it and found many of the facts fascinating, but there is a lack of humour. I came away feeling slightly educated, which is never a bad thing, and even better it was not done in a manner that made it feel like a lesson!

(Very informative about the different methods Victorians had for cleaning chimney’s. Mine is in need of a clean, does anyone know where I can get a goose?)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
This is a very good sideways look at the whims and history of every day Londoners (as were) with lots of very entertaining (proper) history thrown in for good measure. You have to cast your mind into the mood to fully appreciate it though. May be not to everyone's taste as we do not all relate to London. Would be very interesting if someone could get hold of stories, anecdotes and history of other cities around the British Isles.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2013
Dodger is a pleasant book about sewers in Victorian London, with many leisurely strolls among the flotsam and jetsam that made fortunes for some lucky fellows.
This pretty little picture book collects Punch cartoons and remarks by folks who drifted in and out of the first book. Sort of a vade mecum, if your Way-Back machine is in good nick.
If you enjoyed Dodger, you want this book. It is less obsessed with Poo; Sir Terry appears to have got it out of his system. Gesundheit.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
Excellent condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
I was fascinated by the detaills of London life in Dickens day, mch more accessible to me than the Dickens novels, which i found hard going apart, from A tale of Two Cities.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here