Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
79
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 July 2017
Imran Khan is a winner with a cricket career of David v Goliath successes so one shouldn’t expect modesty from such a pedigree and aspiring politician. This book is a great insight into the contemporary politics of one of the world’s real flashpoints, a beautiful country with an amazing history somehow brought to the verge of extinction. Khan’s anecdotes are valuable and often humorous with a fascinating East/West perspective. As much as anything this is a motivational book about drive, ambition and achievement with my only criticism being that Khan’s birth privalage perhaps does not fully recognise the extent of Pakistan’s non-meritocratic inequality.Personally I would like a bit more passion about this and gender rights but clearly the world needs this man to lead this troubled nascent state.The incident describing when this Oxbridge London socialite in his late 30's is introduced to an arranged partner to appease his traditional father perhaps best exemplifies the contemporary culture clash crossroads of Pakistan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2012
A great book with the honest accounts of his life ......He will Good willing succeed in his mission ....
One important fact about his life ...he is fighting for a cause for more than 15 years and nothing deter him ....This single quality made him a great leader, although he has a lot other.....

He has some flaws as well ...but hay guys who doesn't ... he is human
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
It's more of Imran Khan's personal biography/history than of Pakistan. He described well how he grew up and what he experienced all his life from a beloved young boy to a Cricketer and later politician. He must have written the book himself and obviously mentioned few things that he shouldn't have as a Politician. Because his opponents really twisted his words and used against him. A good book to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2012
Went through the book cover to cover in five sittings despite having young boys.When i first started reading it, i thought it will just be about his life and views. It is thousand years of history relevant to Imran's life and views packed in a few pages and talks of the future as well.

At the end of the book i felt enlightened and hopeful of the new Dawn that is beckoning Imran and Pakistan.

I personally feel Pakistan's existensial crisis has Imran as the only answer. Like in cricket he will inspire
many a generation to come in politics. A legend in his own right and my Hero.

Masood (Manchester, UK)
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2016
He is a great person with honest history throughout his life career.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2012
I started reading this book on my plane journey to the USA. I am not an avid reader and I soon put a book down after only a few pages but I was glued to this one. I have never seen Pakistan but my ancestors are from Pakistan. Perhaps this affinity also increased my desire to know what has been happening to my parents country. Imran supplied a lot of answers in a concise, interesting and logical manner. Imran seems to be someone dedicated to social purpose altruistically and Pakistanis all over the world are pinning for a leader like Imran. May he be victorious and improve the well being of all Pakistanis with as he says islamic principals of welfare and equality. He is also a leader who can win the west over for the betterment of his nation.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2011
Nice book well put together,I don't normally read but this book draws you in from the first few pages, the first few pages contain information about his experience in jail etc. This book also provides you with sufficient amount of Pakistan's history and as being a 16 year old reading this book I was very fascinated on how military rule has destroyed the country. This book is ideal for people who want to not just read about Pakistan's history but also its current political climate and Pakistan's current state. The best thing I liked about this book was that he mentioned a lot on the tribal areas of Pakistan, explaining there history and culture in great detail.

I would definitely recommend this book to people who want to read about Pakistan's history as well as Imran Khans struggle and success.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2011
Although not a fan of cricket myself, I was very excited when I heard that Khan was writing this book as he is now a well known political figure in Pakistan. The history of Pakistan is superbly presented. Dates, figures, and facts are here in abundance and these factors contribute to making the book highly informative. Khan makes the big political and social issues easy to understand for all, and his passion and patriotism is attested to on every page.

There are 2 reasons why I have not given this book 5 stars. Firstly, Khan comes across as extremely vain at times. Anyone would think there was no other famous cricketer in the the world! He also portrays himself as something of a saviour to Pakistan, the only hope the country has for the future. Conceited? I think so.

Secondly, I felt that there were too many in drawn out explanations for his theological beliefs. Whilst this is a partial biography and his religious views are to be respected, I felt that he came across as slightly overbearing and 'preaching' at times.

These 2 points aside, a very good read.
22 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2011
Excellent book. essential and exciting reading for anyone interested in Pakistan.Firstly, it tells the story of Imran's life, and his personal development influenced by religion. this part of the book has a style reminiscent of Gandhi's autobiography, and is simple and straightforward. it shows Imran as honest, sincere, courageous and idealistic, compassionate about the hard life of poor Pakistanis, and determined to make a total effort to bring Pakistan back from the brink. he discards practical politics and sees things as right versus wrong.
he inspires, and wins respect. secondly the book is a good and accurate account of recent Pakistani political history, and the issues and problems that urgently need to be addressed today. thirdly the book describes Islam's role in history, and the qualities of tolerance, justice, values and education that made Islam the leading civilization for a thousand years. Forthly, it is a political manifesto which sets out Imran's objectives and struggle.
the book will certainly convince many readers that Imran is Pakistan's only hope. after reading this book, people will stop asking 'Can he win?' and instead ask, 'Can Pakistan survive if he doesn't win?'
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2011
what a superb book, couldn't put it down. would recommend it to anyone who wants to understand the history of pakistan, why it is the way it is today, and why imran khan is the only solution.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)