Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

One night three teenage girls meet in a ghost town and become involved in a terrifying game of Russian Roulette. By morning one of them is dead and the other is in jail. Olivia Hawk says she did not kill Ashlyn Steele but nobody believes her. Ashlynn is the spoiled daughter of Florian Steel owner of a local chemical research centre in St Croix. There have been several deaths from cancer since this facility opened and the people of Barron, a nearby town, are involved in a bitter feud with the other town. Olivia's parents are separated when her mother decided to return to her home town and become involved in the community, but her father, Chris Hawk who is an attorney from the city, rides to the rescue.

Ok no prizes for guessing that there is a cover up and that the research centre is breaching safety guidelines all in the cause of profit. The characters in this book are drawn with very broad brush strokes indeed and though it ends in a huge climax: dam bursting, water flooding the towns, death and destruction it was a tad predictable. The writing is a bit more Grisham like than I care for and some of the prose is positively purple. Lots of action and pace but a bit over the top - for me at any rate
33 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
If you like whodunnits with continual twists, then you can do no wrong in checking out this little number.
Spilled Blood curtails the murder of a young teenager Ashleyn, who is the daughter of an executive of a microbiological company called Mondaman. The main suspect is Olivia in an apparently cut and dried case. But Chris a lawyer and father of Olivia thinks otherwise.
The story twists and turns as the web of intrigue transpires. There are tales of coverups, corruption and feuds between rival towns that are exposed in the story and Chris in his striving to clear his daughters name, leaves no stone unturned.
All I can say is check it out. For the sum of £1.95 you can do no wrong. Just as good as the Lee Childs and James Pattersons of this world.
Give it a whirl.You wont be disappointed.
Highly recommended 9\10.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
Although this is only the second one I have read, I'm afraid that I just don't seem able to connect with Brian Freeman's books very much at all.

There is no doubt that he is an able wordsmith and can dream up a good plot, but for me that is where all praise ends. He writes without heart. humour, or warmth and his characters are therefore similarly devoid of personality. In fact they all come across as self-centred, loveless morons, that I couldn't care less about. The plot becomes so thinly spread that it loses impetus and invokes disappointment in it's creation.

His style of writing feels incomplete and reading it is like trying to run a marathon knee-deep in treacle.

Things liven up a bit in chapter 50 but manage to slide into a laborious winding up process in the last chapter.

Nah, not for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
A great read!
A town split by not only a river, but prejudice and hatred.
This novel covers all sectors and ages of society. It kept me guessing until the end, with lots of false ends.
A large science park, contamination, lawsuits, murder, bribes, pornography, blackmail, choices, hope and love.
I was the sure when I started reading the book whether it was going to be a teen murder mystery, but no, it was a thrilling read.
I also liked the fact that I had to read the book, rather than just skim it.
I was really sorry to finish the book and I enjoyed learning about all of the characters and it was very well written.
I am definitely going to download any other books by this author, another great book from Amazon, a. Author I had never heard of, but what a treat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have read most of Mr Freeman's books and loved them up until The Bone House, where I didn't get past the first few chapters and Spilled Blood which I finished in the hope that it would get going at some point. To be fair it has all the elements of a good book - murder, false accusations, main characters in danger and a twist at the end but none of it pulled me in. I couldn't identify with the characters as I felt none of them had any depth and ended up not caring what happened to them. Sorry, but this one is not for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2013
Brilliant intricate plot with great characters. Young girl incorrectly accused of murder has her recently absent lawyer father deeply involved and determined on uncovering the truth. Action packed thriller, you just don't know what's coming next. Loved all the sub plots which wound their way through to the final climax. A brilliant well thought through book and great writing. Everything from murder, mystery, unexpected twists and turns, with love for an ex-wife and daughter shining through. Well done Brian. Loved it so much I've just downloaded another one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2015
I found myself crying with emotion as I read through this page turner with twists and turns on every page. What an amazing film this would make.Based on this book I intend to read every single one of Brian Freemans book. What a talented author. Don't miss this one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed this book from start to finish . Lovely story about a broken marriage and family.
Through some terrible time's his daughter of only 16 years stands accused of murder, his ex wife has cancer. Feuds between 2 towns then more murders full of mystery and suspense. Twists and turns and terrible violence. Intertwined with love
and realization of what matters in life.Well written
would thoroughly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
I so loved this book and was so sad when it came to an end... I wanted to keep reading... This is one book you will no get right if you try and guess who the killer actually is.... I was gob smacked as i had my own suspicions, and was completely wrong!!... It is the first book of Brian Freeman i have read, but it certainly will not be the last one and have downloaded one more of his to start on tomorrow..

Do yourself a favour and download this book. You will not be disappointed or be able to put it down.. Gx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 9 November 2013
Oh my - this book takes you on quite an emotional ride. I found myself looking at every character wondering if they were the culprit, especially wondering about the identity of "Daddy" As it turned out, one of my suspects for him was right, but by the time we got to that revelation, so much else had happened that I had forgotten all about "Daddy". This book dives off at tangents in so many places, but all of those tangents are completely connected to the main drive of the story, it just rolls together and raises more questions which have to be answered before we can get to the denouement. Whenever you think you have the bad guy tagged, something happens to show that you haven't and you have to rethink everything you thought you knew.
There is a major threat from the bad guy - but surely he can't destroy everything can he? Just don't make assumptions, this book throws away the formula for the thriller genre and rewrites the rules. Even the end isn't the end.
From the precis provided I wasn't sure about this book and wondered if I would get sufficiently involved to enjoy it - well I got that one wrong! Great book, I will be taking a look at more of Brian Freeman's work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here