Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 29 September 2015
An anthology of Oxley's columns on Grand Prix Motorcycle racing through the "glory years" of the late 80s and early 90s two-stroke 500s.

I've read some criticism of the book in that it has a sometimes odd selection of stories, but what I've found is that it does really give the flavour of the time. As it's the later part of the book is the time I really got into motorcycle racing, I remember some of the big stories, but perhaps less of the background and flavour of the paddock. This is a great wee read for that kind of flavour.

Not something to sit and devour from cover to cover, but as a book to dip in and out of to remind yourself of an era, or to get a deeper understanding of what was going on behind the results, this is a quality purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 April 2014
Matt Oxley writes for Motorsport which says a lot about him as a writer of some stature, as with that magazine's pedigree they wouldn't entertain some of the clowns who write for today's crop of motorcycle 'comics'. Oxley is a racer of some repute himself, and so he writes from an insider's perspective about the sport and its personalities over the last 20 years. The book is well written and although it dips into Matt's 'diaries' and writings and jumps from subject to subject, it is presented in chronological order and as such perhaps gives a better insight into the 'paddock' and what goes on behind the scenes than a straight forward historical 'who did what and when' would have done. Some swearing, but then its a tough sport peopled by nutters. If you like motorcycle racing, buy the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2016
No idea why this book would receive a bad review, so don't understand some of the comments posted. I've been a fan of bike racing for thirty years, and a biker in that time too, and for me this is a great book because it gives you the inside line on the sport, which you don't get that often across other media. Despite following the sport for so long I didn't know most of the stories recanted in the book. It's also chopped up into short anecdotes/stories which makes it very readable. One of the best bike racing books I've read, if the not The best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 April 2015
This is an excellent book full of top-flight motorcycle racing stories up until the mid 2000's by one of the greatest & most respected bike journalist/authors.
As an ex-racer himself he not only knows what he's talking about but he has great insight and access to the real stories.
I've been a big racing fan for a long time, yet this book has many stories that even I never knew about, and explains more about the ones I thought I did know.
I'd recommend this book to any bike GP fan. I only hope in the near future there will be a Fast Stuff 2 book full of stories from the mid 2000's onward.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2015
For a guy with twenty years of tales to tell I was really disappointed in what he chose to write about.surely having spent so much time with the world's top racers there are far more interesting tales to tell. Anybody who watches Motogp knows where the sport is heading we don't need our senses numbed even more by someone boring us telling us where it's going. Personally I flicked through a lot of this book and tried landing on the pages where I thought a good tale might be told, few and far between. A missed opportunity to pen a riveting read for fans of motorcycle racing. Disappointed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 May 2015
Lets get this out there as soon as possible. If you have any interest whatsoever in bike racing, you will love this book. Its really as simple as that. Mat Oxley proves with every word on every page why he's regarded as one of this country's premier motorcycle journalists. What you get here is 470+ pages of insight and stories from the pinnacle of bike racing with articles about the modern riders like Stoner and Rossi, with interviews with legends like Schwantz, Doohan and Rainey. If you do one thing this weekend, hunt this down, buy it and read it. Its fantastic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2014
Not every article in this book is wonderful but some of it is totally outstanding , interesting, funny, and despite it being made of a lot of separate stories over a lot of years the common thread is motorcycles and motorcycle racers so it does hang together very well.

VERY enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 November 2017
Good stuff for bikers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 March 2017
An excellent read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 September 2015
Amazing book about a fantastic sport . May Oxley certainly knows his sport and writes with a passion for it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)