Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 October 2016
I've been buying a lot of these Haynes "Owner's Workshop Manual" recently. They are an excellent reference item when building model kits and easy to read as a stand alone book. They follow a standard format- history, variants, Use and Maintenance. The books are usually written by former user/experts and are always very informative. Also, the quality of photos and illustrations are second to none, often showing the unseen/hard to get to areas. Haynes are onto a winner with these, as they are an excellent addition to a reference library. This book has the timeline of events during the fateful Apollo 13 mission, with insider stories and comments. Love these Haynes books- although going to need a bigger bookcase at this rate.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
This is one of the few books giving serious detail of one of the most exceptional Apollo missions. Although written as a Haynes manual (more famous for car maintenance) it really is technically excellent rather than a sort of spoof which I think the equivalent Apollo 11 manual may have been. The only other book on Apollo that I have read with technical detail is 'How Apollo flew to the moon' by W.D.Woods which I consider the best book ever written about the technical challenges Apollo presented and how they were overcome. ('Digital Apollo' by D.Mindell' is also good) This Haynes manual is only limited to the one mission and does not cover orbital mechanics or the 'why' of technical solutions in the way that 'How Apollo flew to the moon' and 'Digital Apllo' do but it does give an exceptional amount of quantitative information. However the story of the adventure from the mission controllers point of view is well told (and it was exceptionally a mission controllers mission) as the author was present. and you can skip past all the quantitative information where it does not interest you. As an 'Apollo watcher' I would recommend this as one of the more worthwhile of the many books on Apollo that have been written.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
I bought this book because while I love space and there is quite a lot of literature on about space and the solar system, there is comparatively little on space travel and its more technical/mechanical aspects. As well I find the story of Apollo 13 incredibly fascinating and wanted to know more detail about exactly what went wrong and why. This book satisfies both of those criteria and then some.

I cant say that this book is the easiest read, but then again it is literally rocket science! But it is written in a way that you can easily get to grips with, even if you have to perhaps re-read the odd section for it to sink in! The technical drawings, photos and illustrations are fascinating and of a very high quality, and it is laid out well. It explains much about the Saturn and Apollo programme through the story of Apollo 13, giving it a story like feel while teaching you a great deal in the process. It really is an exceptional book and well worth a read if like me you want to know more, not about space but how we get up there!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
As I have come to expect from David Baker, this is another excellent book, quite technical in parts, it gives a good understanding of the Apollo 13 mission and its problems.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2015
Very good account of the whole Apollo 13 flight and all the components which make up the Command Module, the Service Module and the Luna Module. Gives a great insight about how NASA works, how the whole saga unfolded and how they were able to identify and resolve the problems which arose. Includes an enormous amount of extremely technical information and constant uses the various acronyms as used by NASA. Luckily there is an extremely useful glossary for the acronyms at the back of the book which you will need to refer to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
This is a book for those who love their engineering, This clearly covers all aspects of the Apollo 13 flight from a man who knew it intimately
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
You all know the story, but this gives every explanation you could require, and excellent detail and photos / illustrations
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2016
Best buy for ages! This was a gift for someone and they loved it! It was everything it claimed to be and more! Images are crystal clear and highly detailed as is the corresponding text. Well worth the money! It arrived with 4 or 5 days of order and was well packaged too, so very happy with my purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
Brilliant - has lots of information about this mission of survival which I watched on TV as a child. These books are great because of all the interesting details, diagrams and photos.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)