Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
14
4.2 out of 5 stars


on 9 August 2017
Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
like this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2014
If you're interested in assembling a Strat from bought components then this is an excellent companion. It covers the assembly, different types of electronics and various aspects of finishing. The book's strengths are the clear layout, big, full-colour pictures on good quality paper (too many other guitar books make do with grainy black and white pictures) and detailed instructions. However, what this isn't, is a book on building an electric guitar from scratch. It's about assembling a Strat - and it does a good job.

A couple of minor gripes: firstly, the binding, while very good quality, makes it difficult to keep pages open for reference while your hands are holding other things (say, a soldering iron). I'm not familiar with Haynes' other manuals but surely this is a common issue with this kind of binding? And secondly, the book refers to "S-type" guitars throughout. I know Fender has rights to the name "Strat" but surely we can call a spade a spade and a Strat a Strat?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2015
In general, a useful reference book to have if you want to know how to bold together a guitar from one of the available kits you can buy. Mostly useful for how to get a good finish, sanding, wiring etc. There is also an interesting section on Brian May's amazing guitar, but if you're interested in that, then definitely buy the "Brian May Red Special" book, by Simon Bradley and Brian May which goes through every screw and .

However, as other reviews have mentioned, if you're planning to build a guitar from scratch, this is of limited use.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
I bought this book for some insight into the workings and details of Brian May's famous Red Special guitar which this book features as a case study that includes a comparison with the high end, limited edition, hand built replica built by English Luthier, Andrew Guyton. The rest of the book is interesting enough for people embarking on building any of the other types of electric guitar covered in the book, but Brian May enthusiasts or potential Red Special builders should also appreciate the material. However, there is nothing that isn't already out there in the public domain on the various internet forums dedicated to the Red Special and other Brian May equipment.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2014
This is much wider ranging than just building an electric guitar from a kit. It covers from building a cigar box guitar to Brian May’s Red Special. Easy to follow and understand. Certainly recommend it, particularly if read with the Electric Guitar Manual by the same author.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2013
Nicely laid out and informative but level of detail patchy. As someone else commented, an assembly guide to using parts rather than a building guide. Worth reading if you have some DIY skills already but for hand holding, look elsewhere.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
very detailed book for a beginner like me trying a new hobby many thanks to you.xxxx xxxx xxxx xxxx xxxx
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
This is a very good as you would expect from this company. Lots of very useful information on guitars including setting them up. I haven't started my project yet so maybe a further review would be good when I have been able to evaluate the information provided
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2015
As with Haynes motor manuals this book is written clearly making it very easy to follow with its help I have built two guitars and in case you are thinking I must be some whizz kid craftsman I assure I am not I drive a truck for a living
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse