Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
11
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 August 2013
This book is more than the sum of its parts. The history of the Norman invasion thorough to Henry V111 is held together by the development and use of the long bow. I've heard it described as the atomic bomb of its day. I'm full of awe at the development of the training of the Yeomen and the strength they must have developed just to draw some of the bigger bows. It is evidently possible to tell from the skeletons that came from the Mary Rose, those which were archers due to the skeletal changes that took place as a result of the men drawing a yard. It's also interesting to think of the logistics of developing the bow using the heard wood and the outer wood to it's greatest effect. Then the development of supply lines for all the bows, bow strings, arrows, feathers etc and then the delivery of all of it to central points. Considering they didn't have even a postal service, never mind a mobile phone, the communication itself must have been formidable.
For anyone interested in the history of this era this is a 'must read'.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
This book is outstanding, full of detail and a joy to read. It is difficult to find books of this quality with such insight and knowledge.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2013
Very well written and illustrated, Robert Hardy is not only an actor of note but an excellent weaponry historian who provides an insightful history of this renown weapon.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
Read this book twenty years ago and mentally made a note to try some medieval archery....a really inspirational read for an "Englysshman"...you can hear Hardy's plummy vowels resonating through the text as you read his descriptions of the various battles of the HYW.

Now that I am totally immersed in heavy war bow archery (an interest that has since become a totally all-consuming activity), I bought this as a copy for a new archer and ended up re-reading (and keeping), this revised edition myself from cover to cover. Thoroughly recommended for anyone with even a passing interest in this weapon and the pivotal role it played during the Hundred Years War against the French and archery in a wider context up to the modern day.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
I used to do archery as a boy and have been threatening to tKe it up again for some time now. The timely arrival of this book has hastened that decision. It is: thorough, authoritative and yet, unusually for such a book not boring like some others I have read. The history is accurate and Hardys dealings with all aspects of the battles and the weapons ( and not just the longbow) just brings the whole history to life.
If you are considering buying such a book then stop - considering that is and buy this one, it's great!
Stuart Clifford
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
The best book on the subject, written with flair and panache. This is my third copy, the first two having been lent to others and lost to me. Hey ho. Contains, on p56, the best definition of bloody-minded Britishness known to me. In my bloody mindedness I shan't be lending this one to anyone. NMC
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2015
Excellent speedy service only surpassed by the extra effort made with the packaging. The book looked as though it had just rolled off the printers press, just what I wanted as it was a gift. The recipient too was delighted with the content of this great publication.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2014
Still reading this as other books got in first, and whilst this is quite detailed and informative in relation to the relevance of the Longbow in battles, for me it is not as readable as Mr Soars book. Worth having, but expensive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2015
I bought this book for my husband and He is really enjoying it. Robert Hardy is a very good author and explains things very clearly, so says my husband. Good value for the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2015
Nicely illustrated. The text is a bit uneven: parts well written, others not so much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)